We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely vegan options too!”
Review of Soul Quarter

Soul Quarter
Ranked #31 of 1,225 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Located in Stranges Lane in Christchurch, Soul Quarter has been designed to create a comfortable, warm and inviting atmosphere. Summer dining is open to the sheltered courtyard while evening and winter dining is candlelit with the fire on. Our talented chefs have designed a modern Louisiana, French style menu with South and Latin American influences. The menu celebrates local, fresh and seasonal produce with incredible flavours and plenty of gluten free, vegan and other dietary options. Our front of house team are friendly, attentive and go out of their way to provide excellent service and a great dining experience. The lit up bar has a carefully selected wine and craft beer list with some of the best wines that our region has to offer and impressive champagnes. We specialise in our in-house designed cocktails, created with fresh, seasonal ingredients and our team's extensive international cocktail experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in Stranges Lane in Christchurch, Soul Quarter has been designed to create a comfortable, warm and inviting atmosphere. Summer dining is open to the sheltered courtyard while evening and winter dining is candlelit with the fire on. Our talented chefs have designed a modern Louisiana, French style menu with South and Latin American influences. The menu celebrates local, fresh and seasonal produce with incredible flavours and plenty of gluten free, vegan and other dietary options. Our front of house team are friendly, attentive and go out of their way to provide excellent service and a great dining experience. The lit up bar has a carefully selected wine and craft beer list with some of the best wines that our region has to offer and impressive champagnes. We specialise in our in-house designed cocktails, created with fresh, seasonal ingredients and our team's extensive international cocktail experience.
Reviewed 15 May 2024

We were delighted with our meals and loved the vegan options, including the devine pumpkin ravioli and the vegan aioli with the best fries ever! Excellent service, warm and cosy atmosphere, great music and quality food. We'd love to go again.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank trush68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2024

We chose the 'Trust the Chef" menu and it did not disappoint. Spectacular, stunning, tasty range of dishes. It was lovely to have attentive servers, felt very looked after. Not to mention the restaurant is a beautiful space, such a vibe.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank Kitsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2024

We had a really enjoyable evening at the Soul Quarter. The Trust the Chef Menu was a really delightful experience and we had some of the most visually beautiful and delicious dishes we could have wished for. We loved the whole experience, the service, the atmosphere and the food. The baked camembert was a favourite for us all. I look forward to returning again soon.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 661leanep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

My wife and I dined at Soul Quarter for our wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the bluesy ambience, the food was delicious with decent sized helpings and the staff were friendly and professional.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank neileN4020IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024

Tucked away behind a small door in Stranges Lane, Soul Quarter offers a cosy, intimate atmosphere, a small but well-thought out menu, and consistently excellent service. On our most recent visit, the team catered just as well for our group of eight with a variety of special dietary requirements (including Coeliac and dairy free), as they do for just the two of us. The food is delicious and the portions generous! Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank JenGbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Soul Quarter also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Soul Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.