We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great knowledgeable staff, great food great service.”
Review of Soul Quarter

Soul Quarter
Reserve a table
Ranked #34 of 1,219 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Located in Stranges Lane in Christchurch, Soul Quarter has been designed to create a comfortable, warm and inviting atmosphere. Summer dining is open to the sheltered courtyard while evening and winter dining is candlelit with the fire on. Our talented chefs have designed a modern Louisiana, French style menu with South and Latin American influences. The menu celebrates local, fresh and seasonal produce with incredible flavours and plenty of gluten free, vegan and other dietary options. Our front of house team are friendly, attentive and go out of their way to provide excellent service and a great dining experience. The lit up bar has a carefully selected wine and craft beer list with some of the best wines that our region has to offer and impressive champagnes. We specialise in our in-house designed cocktails, created with fresh, seasonal ingredients and our team's extensive international cocktail experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in Stranges Lane in Christchurch, Soul Quarter has been designed to create a comfortable, warm and inviting atmosphere. Summer dining is open to the sheltered courtyard while evening and winter dining is candlelit with the fire on. Our talented chefs have designed a modern Louisiana, French style menu with South and Latin American influences. The menu celebrates local, fresh and seasonal produce with incredible flavours and plenty of gluten free, vegan and other dietary options. Our front of house team are friendly, attentive and go out of their way to provide excellent service and a great dining experience. The lit up bar has a carefully selected wine and craft beer list with some of the best wines that our region has to offer and impressive champagnes. We specialise in our in-house designed cocktails, created with fresh, seasonal ingredients and our team's extensive international cocktail experience.
Reviewed 28 April 2023

Ordered the vegan lime cheesecake with fejoa and pomegranate. Wow! Perfectly balanced flavors and a beautiful texture. Hard to believe it is vegan and gluten free. My wife ordered the souffra which she couldn't fault. It is kinda like a baclava but also very much it's own thing. Orange custard and pistachio flavor. She claims it's 10/10 which matched my score of the cheesecake. Well done Soul Quarter.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank ortonbradleycafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2023 via mobile

Dined here after being recommended by our hotel nearby, and we’re really glad we did.

The place is certainly a find, in an area that is still surrounded by redevelopment after the Canterbury earthquakes.

As you walk in off the street you’re immediately greeted by warmth and fairy lights above in a sheltered laneway, with live acoustic music coming from the adjoining bar which you pass before entering the restaurant which is tucked away in the back corner.

Despite plenty of bustle with 2 large groups dining, the feel of the restaurant is intimate and inviting, the fireplace is a lovely touch.

Service was attentive without being overbearing, we shared a parfait to start, and an sirloin and duck for mains, accompanied by a lovely local Pinot Noir. All was top notch.

Dessert was tempting, but instead we were drawn back to the adjoining bar where we had a nightcap while the musician played to a small yet appreciative crowd.

All in all, simply looking for a bite to eat turned into a wonderful evening.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank Tourist04939541092
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2023

Would recommend to all, amazing staff and great foods. Cocktail list was the best I’ve seen in years too!

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fearless55111663230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2023

Not recommended for larger groups. Terribly slow service. Booking was for 6.30pm and the first drink wasn't served for over 30min. The entrée didn't come out till just before 9pm and i left before mains because I was completely over the waiting. The scallops were cooked well but the choice of curry butter bisque was poor pairing. It was unbalanced with too much tartness in the curry it basically ruined the star of the dish. Presented well but I would expect that when it took nearly 3 hours to make. I am sure that others may have had a good experience at this restaurant but I certainly would never go back again let alone book with a group of friends. Save your money for somewhere else.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank cantabrian384
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2023

We had a fabulous dining experience and due to other commitments earlier in the evening we dined at 8.45pm. The meal was not rushed the service from the two young gentlemen was outstanding. The food will definitely bring us back. Thanks to the Chef. Steak cooked to perfection and a porcini butter to die for. Dessert is a must for those with a sweet tooth. Highly recommend this venue for your fine dining experience

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Compass47717549525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Soul Quarter also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Soul Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.