We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chimp Ran

GATES DAMAGED OUR VEHICLE

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 May 2021
The stay will be remembered only for the incident when we entered the property and auto gates closed on our vehicle before we got through. This resulted in damage to the vehicle and distress to my wife who was driving at the time. The gates have no sensors to prevent them closing on a vehicle or sensors to release the closing mechanism after detecting resistance.

The rest of the stay was ruined by this experience.

Owner was unwilling to discuss the incident and just acted dumb. Last time we stayed here these gates were acting up too.

I suggest you stay here only if your driving a tank or perhaps an armoured car.
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $179
  • StayForLong
    $168
  • Hotel Website
    $179
1.2 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$206
  • Hotels.com
    $165
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Priceline
    $171
0.6 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$152
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Vio.com
    $142
  • Agoda.com
    $152
1.6 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$223
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $223
  • Hotels.com
    $223
  • Vio.com
    $223
1.0 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $129
  • Vio.com
    $114
  • Hotels.com
    $129
0.8 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$240
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $240
  • Agoda.com
    $236
  • Hotels.com
    $240
7.1 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.1 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • ZenHotels.com
    $256
  • Hotels.com
    $266
8.6 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$208
  • Novotel
    $208
  • ZenHotels.com
    $198
  • Expedia.com
    $208
0.7 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$191
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $194
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $191
8.3 km from Hagley Park East Residence
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 March 2021

Bath phone had poor reception (re photo) but rest of stay was fantastic. Great host too. Yoshi was quick to sort anything you need. Clean and tidy rooms. Highly recommended. ... we will be back for sure!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Darryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2021

Fabulous stay! We loved:

• Beautiful heritage building, with stylish contemporary and sympathetic decor, exactly as per photos on website, TA, and so on.

• BRILLIANT location in a quiet and pretty neighbourhood, within walking distance of green spaces, the river, and central city.

• The cleanliness of the entire property (including our suite,) and also the fact complimentary hand sanitiser was available throughout, as well as in our room.

• Beauty and spaciousness of our suite; comfortable bed; reliable and effective climate control.


• GORGEOUS bathroom with Japanese toilet “Toto,” with automatic sensor lid and heated seat amongst other pleasant features; deep clawfoot bath; spacious shower closet with rain shower head; double basins; excellent water pressure; very good storage options.

• GORGEOUS bay window feature with cushion seats in our suite, making for an enjoyable day bed for relaxing, reading, etc.

• Good sized wardrobe.

• Shared kitchen facilities with all the essentials.

• Simple but very pleasant breakfast.

• Secure, off-street parking.

• Wifi, and

• Last, but by no means least, our Host: Yoshi, a lovely young hospitality professional who was warmly welcoming, prompt and reliable, approachable and friendly, always smiling (which might seem minor, but made our day every time we saw Yoshi,) courteous, and sincere in his preparedness to be helpful!

Thanks, Hagley Park East Residence, and thanks, Yoshi! A peaceful central city haven and gem in the Garden City’s crown. 10/10

Best regards, Ellen & Stan

PS Guest Suggestions? It’s truly difficult to come up with any suggestions for improvements for this property... Everything was so lovely!

Digging deep, our only possible suggestions would be: a shaving mirror (wall mounted, magnifying mirror with light) for the bathroom, and perhaps the addition of some ornamental flowering plants (standard and/ or climbers) for the driveway and parking area.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank beans0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2021

The 1910 villa was excellent, has been renovated to a very high standard in late 2020. Rooms are exceptional, bathroom is something you should check out before renovating. The place is nice & quiet. Plenty of parking.

Common lounge, breakfast area & courtyard for you to use.

Very hand to central city dining, shopping & bars.

Yoshi was a great host, thank you very much for a great stay.

Room tip: there are 3 rooms here, all exceptional quality.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChimpR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

Our one night stay was absolutely fabulous!!! The host "Yoshi" was extremely welcoming and helpful and the room was heaven...especially the bathroom!!! With under floor heating, an automatic toilet with loads of features including seat warmer 😉 the shower pressure was excellent. All toiletries provided were high quality.
The bed was very firm but comfortable and at 5ft 1" I nearly needed a step ladder to climb in 🙂 All quality furnishings with comfort in mind. The continental breakfast provided in the dining/lounge was very nice and the selection was great.
The whole place is spotlessly clean and beautifully presented.
I highly recommend and my only issue is that I couldn't stay longer!!!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 129vickid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews