We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best to the price and then there is all the nice guests”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thistle Guest House
Ranked #55 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best to the price and then there is all the nice guests”
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We stayed in Thistle Guest House for two weeks during our work in Christchurch. It's a nice place to stay. It can not be better to that price. The guesthouse is a combination of permanent guests and tourists. Its well situated near to supermarket and a lot of nice restaurants, if you chose not to use the well equipped kitchen in the guesthouse.
Thistle is super clean and cozy place to stay. Therefore recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the backside is more quiet that on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flemming P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Stayed in room 1 as per my previous visits, and everything needed no introduction! Place was great and homely, John was nice..except that the place was changing ownership at the end of November. John was thinking of retiring for good and shifting place..well, whatever it is, good luck with whatever you wish to do.

Highly recommended place to stay with offstreet parking available. Only thing which I guess a lot of guests will love to have is free wifi. Will love to stay here again, and to find out who the new owners are :)

  • Stayed December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Stayed here for two months and the Goodfellows are truly good fellows in every sense of the word. The coldness you feel staying in hotels is absolutely absent and you only feel the warmth of the Thistle that radiates primarily from the hosts. Great accommodation for students. Great value for convenience and friendliness which I price above others. 5/5

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmTatSat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was so pleasantly surprised with how tidy, clean and comfortable the place was. We had just arrived from a 4-star hotel and Thistle's double bedroom had tv, fridge, jug, complimentary tea&coffee and welcoming biscuit to give the that same feel good ambience. Combined with the added flexibility of the use of its homely kitchen and lounge made our stay very lovely indeed. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chye_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments - so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at this Guest House for 2 nights last weekend April 2014. I was in Room 1 which had a queen bed & ensuite. The accomodation was clean & comfortable with a TV & Fridge with electric jug & cups for tea/coffee. The shared kitchen & guest lounge made the stay very homely. John, the host picked me up from the airport, which I really appreciated & was very helpful during my two day visit. This accommodation is good value & exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 380Trish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments, Trish. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Thistle and hope we can accommodate you on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,848 reviews
3.5 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
1,827 reviews
5.0 km away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
718 reviews
7.0 km away
Northcote Motor Lodge
Northcote Motor Lodge
#61 of 145 in Christchurch
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Christchurch

Been to Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Guest House

Property: Thistle Guest House
Address: 21 Main South Road | Church Corner Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $55 - $90
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and affordable bed & breakfast or room only. All rooms have fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Guest kitchen, laundry and lounge. Off-street parking. Handy location at Church Corner: shops, restaurants, buses. Close university, airport and rail (courtesy pick up by arrangement). Wireless internet for your laptop/devise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing