We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thistle Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$276
US$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$177
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$114
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$144
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$111
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tower Junction Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
15
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
7
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Stayed in room 1 as per my previous visits, and everything needed no introduction! Place was great and homely, John was nice..except that the place was changing ownership at the end of November. John was thinking of retiring for good and shifting place..well, whatever it is, good luck with whatever you wish to do.

Highly recommended place to stay with offstreet parking available. Only thing which I guess a lot of guests will love to have is free wifi. Will love to stay here again, and to find out who the new owners are :)

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Stayed here for two months and the Goodfellows are truly good fellows in every sense of the word. The coldness you feel staying in hotels is absolutely absent and you only feel the warmth of the Thistle that radiates primarily from the hosts. Great accommodation for students. Great value for convenience and friendliness which I price above others. 5/5

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmTatSat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was so pleasantly surprised with how tidy, clean and comfortable the place was. We had just arrived from a 4-star hotel and Thistle's double bedroom had tv, fridge, jug, complimentary tea&coffee and welcoming biscuit to give the that same feel good ambience. Combined with the added flexibility of the use of its homely kitchen and lounge made our stay very lovely indeed. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chye_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments - so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at this Guest House for 2 nights last weekend April 2014. I was in Room 1 which had a queen bed & ensuite. The accomodation was clean & comfortable with a TV & Fridge with electric jug & cups for tea/coffee. The shared kitchen & guest lounge made the stay very homely. John, the host picked me up from the airport, which I really appreciated & was very helpful during my two day visit. This accommodation is good value & exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 380Trish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments, Trish. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Thistle and hope we can accommodate you on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The familiarity of the guest house made us choose to stay in this place again after 2 years. Great place, great host! Just a pity that we didn't have time to enjoy our stay thoroughly as we checked in only after 12 midnight and had to leave very early the next morning. We had a little trouble finding the mailbox in the night though. It was just right in front of us but we missed it!

We had booked the same room this time - the double ensuite and it was just as comfy and cozy. I was looking forward to that little butter cookie in fact :)

All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your encouraging comments - so glad you enjoyed staying at the Thistle again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews