We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thistle Guest House
Ranked #78 of 140 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Stayed here for two months and the Goodfellows are truly good fellows in every sense of the word. The coldness you feel staying in hotels is absolutely absent and you only feel the warmth of the Thistle that radiates primarily from the hosts. Great accommodation for students. Great value for convenience and friendliness which I price above others. 5/5

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmTatSat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was so pleasantly surprised with how tidy, clean and comfortable the place was. We had just arrived from a 4-star hotel and Thistle's double bedroom had tv, fridge, jug, complimentary tea&coffee and welcoming biscuit to give the that same feel good ambience. Combined with the added flexibility of the use of its homely kitchen and lounge made our stay very lovely indeed. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chye_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments - so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at this Guest House for 2 nights last weekend April 2014. I was in Room 1 which had a queen bed & ensuite. The accomodation was clean & comfortable with a TV & Fridge with electric jug & cups for tea/coffee. The shared kitchen & guest lounge made the stay very homely. John, the host picked me up from the airport, which I really appreciated & was very helpful during my two day visit. This accommodation is good value & exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 380Trish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments, Trish. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Thistle and hope we can accommodate you on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The familiarity of the guest house made us choose to stay in this place again after 2 years. Great place, great host! Just a pity that we didn't have time to enjoy our stay thoroughly as we checked in only after 12 midnight and had to leave very early the next morning. We had a little trouble finding the mailbox in the night though. It was just right in front of us but we missed it!

We had booked the same room this time - the double ensuite and it was just as comfy and cozy. I was looking forward to that little butter cookie in fact :)

All in all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for your encouraging comments - so glad you enjoyed staying at the Thistle again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I have lived there for over 5 months, at first I book for a month while I was studying English in the University, but in the first week I new I wanted to stay longer.
John, Alisson and Archier are just the best, friendly, helpful, honest, hard workers and really committed to the guests.
Location is just great 10 minutes walk to the university, or 20 minutes by many buses lines across the street to the city, the airport is also 30 minutes by bus(need to do connection).
There are two supermarket, shopping mall, fish and chips, and when you there try Dafinies the Chinese restaurant, is one of the best I have ever had!
If you are after a short stay this place is great, if you need a long term, stop searching now and try your luck, if they have a room available don't think twice, grab it!

Room Tip: I stayed on room number 8 a larger one with basin and two beds facing the backyard and number 5 faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Alison G, Owner at Thistle Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you so much, Rafael, for your kind comments. I hope we can accommodate you again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
3.5 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.6 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#134 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
3.8 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
501 reviews
4 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Guest House

Address: 21 Main South Road | Church Corner Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $55 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and affordable bed & breakfast or room only. All rooms have fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Guest kitchen, laundry and lounge. Off-street parking. Handy location at Church Corner: shops, restaurants, buses. Close university, airport and rail (courtesy pick up by arrangement). Wireless internet for your laptop/devise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing