We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic. Don't consider searching for anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roma on Riccarton Motel
Ranked #37 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Don't consider searching for anywhere else”
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Fantastic. Don't consider searching for anywhere else
From the moment you check you know this is a great motel.
The rooms are immaculately clean with what seems to be new fittings. The bed and the bed lines are excellent and the kitchen facilities all you need in a motel.
The spa bath in our room was a real bonus especially as it was supported with excellent toiletries.
Congratulations to the new owners you are doing a fantastic job.

Room Tip: They all look good but ask for a room with a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjones44, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2015
Hey, thanks very much for the great review. we are proud of this complex and all the great work our team do.
look forward to seeing you again.
Regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    32
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
47
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

From first contact Mark was obliging about my check in time. The room was spotless, shower and bed were fantastic and the place is pretty close to everything I needed. Mark & Lynne are courteous friendly hosts. I wish them all the success for their business. Sorry bout the plant pot guys.

Stayed October 2015, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjones44, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2015
Hey Mark
Thanks for staying, Hope your new life in USA goes well. The pot plant, Yes, well. Sorry it jumped out at you Ha ha ha. no problem.
thanks for the great review.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I shared a twin room suite with my sister and we both thought the place was very nice. The hosts were very good. The room was nice and quiet and yet really close to everything we needed. No real view from the room ( Suite 10) but the overall standard was good

  • Stayed August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeW10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, 30 September 2015
Thanks for staying, great to hear you enjoyed your visit, we are very well located but not a lot we can do as far as views go sorry :(
Thanks for the feedback
Mark
New owner as of 1st sept
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015

It was the second time I stayed at Roma on Riccarton. It is clean, modern, has free wifi and is in a central position. There is a new management and they were as friendly and helpful as the former management.

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saturn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, 30 September 2015
Thank for staying, great to see repeat customers.
WE appreciate it.
Regards Mark
New Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Spent 2 nights here with my daughter before and after doing the Tranzalpine. The new owners, Mark and his wife, were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful, even giving us a lift to the train station the first morning which was much appreciated. Both rooms we had were very clean and comfortable and we slept very well. For our first night we had a big spa bath and our second room had a private little courtyard area so I had my morning cuppa outside in the sunshine! Will definitely return.

Stayed September 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aberdeendunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C, Owner at Roma on Riccarton Motel, responded to this review, 30 September 2015
Thanks, Ladies. it was our pleasure to have you, we would welcome you back anytime.
Regards Mark
(new owner as of 1st sept)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 km away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 km away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 km away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#95 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
Lorenzo Motor Lodge
#32 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.1 km away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#17 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 km away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#81 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma on Riccarton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma on Riccarton Motel

Property: Roma on Riccarton Motel
Address: 38 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $151 - $225
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Roma on Riccarton Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4.5 STAR LUXURY MOTEL IN THE HEART OF RICCARTON- FREE WiFi and FREE 24 HOUR GYM MEMBERSHIP ACROSS STREET DURING STAYRoma on Riccarton Luxury Motel is just 300m from Hagley Park and a short walk to Westfield Shopping Centre at Riccarton Mall. 1-2km to Arts Centre, Museum, Christchurch Public Hospital and Christchurch Womens Hospital. We are 1.5kms to AMI Stadium new home of the Crusaders Rugby Team as well as Addington Raceway, CBS Canterbury Arena and the Tranz Alpine Railway Station. There are numerous restaurants, cafes and bars nearby in Riccarton and Addington.We offer high-quality fittings and smoke-free, FREE WiFi connection as well as high speed internet, 32 inch LCD, Sky TV, DVD player, fully soundproof units. Sunny and restful surroundings. Spa baths in most units. Guest laundry accessed 24 hours with room key. Two phone lines and dedicated free internet connection in each unit. Some units with private garden and patios and some upstairs units with balconies. Free BBQ in private BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roma on Riccarton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing