We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Priceline
$233
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Nazanin S
San Diego, California

Love it. Such a great hotel. We will come back and stay in all their other hotels.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Apr 2024via mobile
Great location, super clean and well designed.the staff are so friendly and helpful.highly recommend
The hotel is walking distance to a casino and a beautiful park.the breakfast is great.
Parking available just outside with no fee.
Rooms have robes , fridge ,dishwashers.better yet they have hair iron and blow dryer.attention to details are spectacular. Thank you Sudima 🫶🏻
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Parking outside with no cost.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maree Welgus, General Manager at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this review
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Kia Ora nazanins2014

Thank you for placing a review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and I have to agree the staff very friendly.

Safe travels

Maree
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$323
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $323
  • Vio.com
    $284
  • Expedia.com
    $323
0.3 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$295
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • Agoda.com
    $253
  • Hotels.com
    $294
0.3 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$144
  • Tripadvisor
    $144
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $144
1.6 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.9 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $165
  • StayForLong
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $170
1.2 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
$199
  • Novotel
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Priceline
    $199
0.9 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$247
  • Priceline
    $247
  • ZenHotels.com
    $232
  • Expedia.com
    $247
8.2 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
$215
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $212
  • ZenHotels.com
    $204
  • Expedia.com
    $215
7.9 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $225
  • Agoda.com
    $218
  • Commodore Airport
6.8 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $129
  • Algotels
    $108
  • Priceline
    $129
1.2 km from Sudima Christchurch City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
162
17
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
162
17
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga mat ish hotel nespresso machine pillow menu recycling bins room service included breakfast walking distance to town little touches brilliant hotel valet parking duty manager family holiday great stay modern hotel four nights two night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay at Sudima and it all comes down to the staff.

Alana is the best asset of this property! She makes it feel like you’re staying at a mates place! The friendly smile that greets you as you step out of the elevator, asking what your plans are for the day followed by some amazing recommendations of places to eat and see.

The hotel is a leisurely walk from the city centre and the botanic gardens.

Rooms are well equipped and clean.

Would happily stay again.

Thank you so much Alana! Look forward to seeing your friendly face again soon.

Jermaine & Shaun.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jermained795
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maree Welgus, General Manager at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Thank you so much for your review Jermained. I agree Alana is a true asset for the hotel and clearly excels in role.

I do hope Alana and I have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sudima Christchurch City.

Nga Mihi

Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024

A very comfortable hotel, though the rooms are a tad on the smaller side with limited storage. There is an excellent breakfast otherwise. I’d happily stay here again, hands down. Special thanks to Alana for her very warm and friendly welcome.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gabor1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hemal Ghetla, Other at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Kia ora,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we're ecstatic that you had a positive experience. Your support means the world to us, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another delightful stay. Alana is such a wonderful team member of ours, glad she was able to assist you.

Ngā mihi,
Hemal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

First this has 5star rating because it’s fairly new, clean and helpful staff. But this is just that, it’s not 5star Ritz or 4 Seasons. More like an Indigo or other modern hotel. Would recommend. Short walk to park and tram stop. There are plenty of things to do nearby.

Room tip: 30 day for parking.room had microwave, dishwasher, and cook top. Buy some snacks & beer & stock fridge.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hemal Ghetla, Other at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Kia ora Roger,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that our services and facilities met your expectations.

Ngā mihi,
Hemal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

Staff were friendly but I didn’t find room comfortable. Hard time getting temperature right and sometimes it smelled. Bed not great. The auto light thing in the bathroom is nice at first but not great if you get up in the night and want to fall back to sleep. I couldn’t figure out the over ride. The coffee was pretty bad. Coffee maker doesnt get it hot enough and they use an ersatz pod that tasted pretty awful. I found the provided toiletries line heavily perfumed where I didn’t care for it. Only 1 night for me and I didn’t have time to explore the area but would prob not stay here again and would look to another brand. I will say hair dryer was good and they also supply a flat iron. Never saw that before.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ellen5181
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hemal Ghetla, Other at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Kia ora,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your honesty and regret that your experience fell short of expectations. We're committed to improving and hope for the opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit. Please feel free to reach out if there's anything specific you'd like us to address.

Ngā mihi,
Hemal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

Very comfortable and modern city hotel. Location a relatively short walk to city centre.
The best hotel breakfast we had in our entire 4 week New Zealand trip. Just a bit different from the boring standard fare which elevated it. Very impressed. Staff also very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alexanderpG4013IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hemal Ghetla, Other at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Kia ora,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we're ecstatic that you had a positive experience. Your support means the world to us, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another delightful stay.

Ngā mihi,
Hemal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews