We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$431
Priceline
$431
ZenHotels.com
$408
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
158
17
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
158
17
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga mat ish hotel nespresso machine pillow menu recycling bins room service included breakfast walking distance to town little touches brilliant hotel valet parking duty manager family holiday great stay modern hotel four nights two night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2023

We spent 11 nights at this hotel and had a wonderful stay. The room was lovely and well stocked. Their restaurant, The Lane, was a nice bonus, with wonderful food and kind staff. The location is a nice walk to the center of town, a short walk to Hagley Park or the Tram ride, and it also has bus stops just outside, so we didn't feel the need to hire a car. We found it to be an upscale yet fairly unpretentious hotel, which we greatly appreciated. A big thank you to Han and crew, and especially Alana, for your help and warm hospitality.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FromNowhere85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hemal Ghetla, Other at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Kia ora FromNowhere85,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel. We strive to provide exceptional hospitality and create memorable experiences for our guests, so it's fantastic to know that we succeeded in doing so during your stay.
Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your lovely review!
Regards
Hemal Ghetla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2023

This is a wonderful hotel with great rooms, beds, and staff in a good location. My complaint is their refusal to be flexible about late check out when the room was not needed. I understand all the rules but when a room isn’t needed I believe extending the courtesy is the right thing to do. It is an act like that that creates loyalty.While I was offered the room at 35/per hour, I felt it petty and I will think twice about returning. Most were quite gracious but one manager repeated in a quite patronizing manner what the posted check out time was as if I couldn’t understand it. It was a real turnoff from an otherwise wonderful staff and good hotel.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alohapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hemal Ghetla, Other at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Kia ora alohapeter,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced during your time with us. We are currently in the busy season and whilst we would love to extend late check-outs we cannot always offer that and I am sorry it happened with your request. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future and welcome you back.

Kind regards
Hemal Ghetla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2023

This was brilliantly located and stylishly fitted out, spacious and we were grateful of the laundry facilities. The breakfast was good too and we enjoyed a drink in the bar one evening as well. The staff were delightful

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hemal Ghetla, Other at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Kia ora 938sarahc,
Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Regards
Hemal Ghetla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023

We’ve stayed here twice in the last two months. The first time was brilliant. Both times the staff were excellent and the rooms were spotless. Housekeeping was excellent as well.
I would recommend not getting a room that is right next to the road. We got the executive apartment room and an adjoining room. Unfortunately the soundproofing in the executive apartment was almost non existent. It sounded as though the traffic downstairs was almost driving right through your room. Avoid these rooms.
Also, we have eaten at the breakfast buffet three times. The last time we ate there put us off going there again. It was around 9am and the breakfast rush was over. The pastries, waffles/pancake area did not get replenished in the half hour we were there. Also the hot food was left to being almost empty and food that had obviously got cold and didn’t taste nice was left.
All in all it’s a nice hotel. Just avoid the buffet and the rooms that front onto the street. They are really noisey

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jackbell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hemal Ghetla, Other at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Kia ora Jackbell88,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced during your time with us, especially around buffet and room allocation. Rest assured, this feedback has been passed onto the wider team to avoid it from happening again. Pleased to know that rest of your stay was comfortable.
We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Hemal Ghetla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2023

Our stay here was exceptional. So many features.. clean, modern, staff very helpful, food excellent, bed super comfy.. plus choice of pillows! Loved the motion light in the bathroom. Good walking distance to many places. The service we received from Lily A, Alana and Crystal was personal and went above and beyond! Thankyou for a great stay!✅✅✅✅✅

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hemal Ghetla, Other at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Kia ora Q699CZdawno,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that our services and facilities met your expectations.

Regards
Hemal Ghetla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews