We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Hotel
US$167
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$150
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$150
View deal
Hotels.comUS$150
CheapTicketsUS$150
eDreamsUS$150
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
88
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga mat thoughtful touches room service happy hour free drinks free mini bar extra features luxe apartment exceptional staff hair straighteners booking direct attached restaurant welcome basket nespresso machine restaurant staff amazing hotel great stay little touches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

We were welcomed warmly by all of the staff on duty and shown to our room. The room was clean and comfortable. All of the amenities were available, including a yoga mat and mat spray. There is also a washing machine and dryer available for guest us - both were spotless.

The location is excellent, being within walking distance of the city centre and locations of interest. There are quite a number of restaurants close by.

Recommended for either a business or holiday stay in Christchurch.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank j1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mareewelgus, General Manager at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at Sudima Christchurch City. I am glad you enjoyed our extra touches in the room.

Kind Regards

Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020

Sudima Christchurch City is a great new four level hotel in Christchurch right near the Avon River, North Hagley Park and the Botanical Gardens. Being in this spot means it is a short 750m walk into the centre of Christchurch and the scooters are a great option for getting around the flat city. Sudima offers clean and tidy rooms but it is the value-adds that make it a great hotel. Make sure you pop down to the bar for happy hour and canapes and then flow on to dinner in the restaurant as with food presented that well and tasting the good you do not need to leave. Sudima offers all the services you need as well including a guest laundry – rare in most hotels – and mini-bar. The rooms are large enough and bathrooms have everything you need. We loved the approach to sustainability including recycling bins in each room – a first for us in a hotel – and commitment to reduce as much plastic as possible. My only comment on the ‘mini bar’ is that it was a one-time mini-bar which I found a bit odd as we stayed four nights so that could be clarified on the website. Regardless, most other hotels would charge exorbitant prices for a mini-bar so it is only a minor blemish and easily offset with happy hour! The staff were fantastic and the breakfasts were sufficient though might not be enough for some people as it is a single (delicious!) choice from the menu. Definitely recommend staying at Sudima and we will look out for other properties in the Sudima group around the world.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mareewelgus, General Manager at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Matt

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor, your comments are very much welcomed and appreciated. The location of the hotel is excellent as our guests can easily walk around our City or as you mentioned scooter or even take one of our complimentary bicycles for the day.

Sudima Hotels are expanding, the next two new builds Sudima Kaikoura and Sudima Auckland City will both open early 2021.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back or welcome you to another Sudima Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020

We arrived into Christchurch on the day after Christmas and wasn't sure what to expect. It was wonderful, in a great location and so comfortable! Our travel agent booked us two rooms with 2x double beds so when we asked if they had a room with a king instead of one of the rooms, they put us into a suite adjoining the kids (well... our 3 girls are 20, 23, & 26 so not little kids but still nice to have adjoining rooms!). Turns out one of our girls had food poising that first night and the large sitting room between our two rooms was so great! We could have breakfast there because they had a full fridge and microwave and toaster, also a washing machine which we needed by our 6th day there. The restaurant in the hotel was the BEST we had our entire 2 weeks. Food was delicious - lamb, mushroom pasta, wine... it was all great. Staff was so helpful when our daughter was sick and for places to see in town. A great experience!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TinaQ745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mareewelgus, General Manager at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Dear Tina

I am so glad that you had a great experience at Sudima Christchurch City. My team obviously left a memorable impression which is always great to read.

I do hope your daughter had a swift recovery.

Kind Regards

Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Sudima Christchurch City on the 2nd of January 2020. The hotel is new, clean, free parking, breakfast included, very friendly staff. Especially Christopher the Duty Manager he is helpful and professional we got an upgrade. The Dinner is very tasty especially the Bluefin tuna. I travel a lot for work and leisure so I highly recommend it. Thank you to all the staff at Sudima city Christchurch.

Alex and Family.
Australia

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AlexanderOz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mareewelgus, General Manager at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Dear Alex & Family

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our newest Sudima Hotel.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip across the "ditch"

Kindest Regards

Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

We stayed for 4nights at sudima Christchurch city. We would not have made any other choice. Hotel is perfect. But the food is the attraction of the hotel. The F&B Mngr Davide Palma exceeded our expectations with regards to dishes we ordered. We did not go outside the hotel for dinner because he took care of us and made sure we got the freshest seafood for dinner.
Wish we had stayed longer. Mr Palma is an asset of the hotel.

Ms Wulff.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mongsiewulff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mareewelgus, General Manager at Sudima Christchurch City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Dear Ms Wulff

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, I was very happy to read your comments in particular about Davide. I agree Davide is an absolute asset to Sudima Christchurch City and his vibrant personality is the soul of Vices & Virtues.

Kind Regards

Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews