We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't leave hungry.”
Review of Jaba Grill and Bar

Jaba Grill and Bar
Reserve a table
Ranked #5 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $46
Description: Jaba Grill and Bar is an upmarket steakhouse located in Christchurch CBD. Our focus is on fresh New Zealand produce sourcing from local suppliers and farmers markets as well as serving fine New Zealand wine and beer. Our main love however is serving the best Canterbury beef steaks and ribs in town. Cooked in our unique and state of the art Kopa charcoal grill for an authentic charcoal flavour.
Restaurant details
Description: Jaba Grill and Bar is an upmarket steakhouse located in Christchurch CBD. Our focus is on fresh New Zealand produce sourcing from local suppliers and farmers markets as well as serving fine New Zealand wine and beer. Our main love however is serving the best Canterbury beef steaks and ribs in town. Cooked in our unique and state of the art Kopa charcoal grill for an authentic charcoal flavour.
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

Great food. We had the main course lamb and ribs with chips as a side. They were prepared really well so definitely good option. The staff is friendly.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank JennieC696
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2024 via mobile

The service was great, food came out in a reasonable time, atmosphere was good. The cocktail I ordered was nice but exceptionally small. The sides, sauces and veg tasted great but the steak which should have been the star of the dish was lacking. I ordered medium but got medium rare, I sliced the fillet and added salt as it was tasteless. The BBQ sauce was fantastic though. Should have ordered the ribs (they would also have been cheaper). Might try again but will probably try other places first.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Markyyeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2024 via mobile

We ordered the lamb rump and pork ribs with the Beef rib sides. AMAZING! We see why Jaba is in the top five restaurants in Christchurch. Frankly, they should be #1!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank markcinrehoboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2024

Omg the best steak!! We had the cave man rib eye which was delicious. The people next to us had ordered a tomahawk to share which we would preorder next time we are in Christchurch. Highly recommend booking. We had fries and veg as sides. Loads of gf available

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank kewt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2024 via mobile

Desperate for some meat, we researched Jaba….and a great find it was. We shared bread and dips which were excellent. For main course my wife ordered the Fillet Steak cooked medium and I ordered the 300g Rib Eye cooked medium.

Both steaks were perfect!

Service was excellent. When we arrived at 19:00 hrs the restaurant had a few diners in, within 30mins the restaurant was packed inside with no tables available(Thursday).

Our tip would be to book if arriving after 19:15.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Jaba Grill and Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Jaba Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.