We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome dinner”
Review of Jaba Grill and Bar

Jaba Grill and Bar
Reserve a table
Ranked #5 of 1,219 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $46
Description: Jaba Grill and Bar is an upmarket steakhouse located in Christchurch CBD. Our focus is on fresh New Zealand produce sourcing from local suppliers and farmers markets as well as serving fine New Zealand wine and beer. Our main love however is serving the best Canterbury beef steaks and ribs in town. Cooked in our unique and state of the art Kopa charcoal grill for an authentic charcoal flavour.
Restaurant details
Description: Jaba Grill and Bar is an upmarket steakhouse located in Christchurch CBD. Our focus is on fresh New Zealand produce sourcing from local suppliers and farmers markets as well as serving fine New Zealand wine and beer. Our main love however is serving the best Canterbury beef steaks and ribs in town. Cooked in our unique and state of the art Kopa charcoal grill for an authentic charcoal flavour.
Reviewed 28 February 2022 via mobile

Dined here on a wet Saturday evening, parking was no issue. We were greeted at the door and promptly seated, we were taken through the menu opting to have starters, mains and dessert.the service was very attentive, with one staff member appearing to be under training.

The meals arrived in good time (but nicely spaced) including the bit of theatre on each dish.

We opted to share two starters, the salmon tartare and the bone marrow both were of substantial size given the cost. Both nicely seasoned and presented

We then each had a different type of steak which were cooked exactly to our request.

Finishing with dessert again substantial in size with great flavour.

Great to see a restaurant that has a great selection of non-alcoholic drinks including mock tails

Date of visit: February 2022
10  Thank Jared-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2022

Our star of the day was the steak there. Would suggest ordering both mushroom and peppercorn sauce if you can’t decide on one. The bone marrow on top of the steak was amazing too. Would definitely go back when in Christchurch.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank Ameya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2022

Honestly the best steak I have had! There was not a single dish where we thought it was just "alright". Every dish, the mains, sides, sauces and even the cocktails were delicious. The steak itself didn't actually need a sauce it was so flavourful and so tender. The wait staff were lovely, the ambiance nice and chill. Simple yet effective decor. I don't normally review places but these guys deserved it. Thank you for a lovely night!

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank LexieMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2022

My husband and I dined at Jaba Grill and Bar on Tuesday 22 February 2022. We enjoy good food and like to go to restaurants. We happened to come across this restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The food was devine (I had a carrot and haloumi entree and peppercorn eye fillet for my main) and the service was also excellent. We will definitely return and will not hesitate to recommend to our family and friends.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank 31340laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2022

Wow! This place is a must if you’re after the 5-star dining experience. The chef has to be complimented for his undeniable ability to cook a steak to absolute perfection. Quite honestly the best eye fillet I’ve ever eaten. Beautiful flavours, great selection of entrees and mains and top notch service from the wait staff. We will be back!

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank RowenaG93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Jaba Grill and Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Jaba Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.