We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food and Service”
Review of Jaba Grill and Bar

Jaba Grill and Bar
Reserve a table
Ranked #5 of 1,219 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $46
Description: Jaba Grill and Bar is an upmarket steakhouse located in Christchurch CBD. Our focus is on fresh New Zealand produce sourcing from local suppliers and farmers markets as well as serving fine New Zealand wine and beer. Our main love however is serving the best Canterbury beef steaks and ribs in town. Cooked in our unique and state of the art Kopa charcoal grill for an authentic charcoal flavour.
Restaurant details
Description: Jaba Grill and Bar is an upmarket steakhouse located in Christchurch CBD. Our focus is on fresh New Zealand produce sourcing from local suppliers and farmers markets as well as serving fine New Zealand wine and beer. Our main love however is serving the best Canterbury beef steaks and ribs in town. Cooked in our unique and state of the art Kopa charcoal grill for an authentic charcoal flavour.
Reviewed 13 July 2021

Really enjoyed dinner here. Service was great. Food was delicious. Steak was cooked perfectly and the dessert was delicious. Thanks. We will be back for sure.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank JackT34223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2021

Went with friends and family based on reviews, Jaba dint disappointed us at all.
Steaks are cooked good and Chef came out checked on the meals was wonderfu touch. Highly recommend

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Ashvin1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2021

Fabulous spot for a meal. Would definitely recommend A+++ YUMMO!!
Steak was primo and the bread entree was delish

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Arnoldsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

We've been to Jaba in Lichfield St twice now - steaks have been excellent but the starter sharing platter is just an embarrassment.... Cheap tasteless olives, ditto the few cornichons, ditto the cheese and supermarket shaved ham and crackers! Just awful.

The waiting staff were attentive but the atmosphere is a bit like a school hall. Especially cold if you sit anywhere near the huge door. Also a question ... The Jaba at The Palms serves a fantastic mixed grill platter for two... Why isn't it on the menu in Lichfield St?

It feels like Jaba has almost got things right but needs a bit of editing...

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank featherd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2021

Super impressed! Food was outstanding - 3 of us dining all had something different and all agreed it was the best meal we had in a very long time. Steak was perfection! Even the staf were awesome. We will definitely be back. Highly recommended 👌

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Happyholiday1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Jaba Grill and Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Jaba Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.