We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Flick821
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Nice hotel, great CBD location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2019via mobile
This hotel is literally right across the road from my companies office in Christchurch so there’s that.

More importantly though it’s comfortable and very quiet. Good wifi and well appointed rooms. Lack of sky sports channels is awkward, but I suppose there are plenty of sports bars nearby.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 5 Dec 2019
Dear Flick821,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad to read you positive comments about our location, rooms and Wifi. Thank you for your feedback on the Sport Channels that we have available but you are correct there are some great sports bars a very short distance from us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our city and to Distinction Christchurch again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $298
  • Agoda.com
    $261
  • Vio.com
    $285
1.0 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$195
  • Tripadvisor
    $195
  • CrownePlaza.com
  • Expedia.com
    $195
0.3 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$295
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $295
1.2 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$168
  • Priceline
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $151
2.2 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$219
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $204
  • Agoda.com
    $187
  • Expedia.com
    $192
0.7 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
$190
  • Priceline
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Novotel
    $190
0.1 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $216
  • Priceline
    $225
7.6 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$247
  • Expedia.com
    $247
  • ZenHotels.com
    $244
  • Priceline
    $247
9.1 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.8 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $113
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
159
64
18
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
64
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking great location cathedral square huge tv new zealand the heart of the city walking distance breakfast buffet room service tram stop beds were very comfortable family room good size very nice hotel hotel is located mini bar pleasant stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

We stayed as a family in one of the best rooms on the 10th floor

Everything was top-notch the room was spacious the beds and furniture all very nice and comfortable

Staff very accommodating friendly professional
Great location near square
Bathroom shower etc top quality

At 350 a night excellent value for 5 of us

This is how it should be in this industry well do e distinction. I have links to the place and have never stayed there before. we will be back

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2019

Dear Philb3024,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So happy to read your amazing comments about our hotel and team. It sounds like you were in our Superior Family Suite which I agree is a great room for families. We look forward to welcoming you back to our city and to Distinction Christchurch again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019 via mobile

This hotel is my favourite hotel in the centre of CHRISTCHURCH for a number of reasons. Firstly the service is excellent and the reception and reservations team are incredibly helpful and nothing is a problem.
The rooms are spacious and have everything that you need for a brilliant stay. The beds are very comfortable and luxurious. Greg and Allie and the team are superb. Great ambassadors for the city as well as taking care of everything efficiently and professionally throughout my visit.

I also really enjoy staying at the hotel while exploring what’s new in central CHRISTCHURCH. There is so much to discover. Most recently it was Riverside Market which has just opened as well as so many beautiful new shops. Highly recommend this hotel as a perfect home away from home.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank CoastalLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Dear CoastalLifestyle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So happy to read your amazing comments about the hotel and our team. It’s great to see that our passion for the city comes across. We look forward to welcoming you back to our city and to Distinction Christchurch again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2019

Stayed here for 2 nights on business - really lovely room, comfy bed and good pillows. Nice bathroom and toiletries and lovely touches like the snacks with the tea and coffee. Very good breakfast. Had been travelling throughout the Uk, Australia and NZ for 3 weeks and this was the nicest hotel I stayed in.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2019

Dear Megam M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So happy to read you amazing comments about our rooms and breakfast. Also so happy to read that you found us the nicest hotel in your 3 weeks of travelling. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

Hotel was OK in most respects: room reasonable size, wifi OK, bathroom OK, breakfast average but Ok, desk space tiny BUT

my room was adjacent to one wall of the liftwell and the noise from the lifts going up and down was phenomenal, like being inside a factory. A constant roaring noise.

Very very disappointing.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ge90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2019

Dear ge90,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m sorry to read about the noise issues you found whilst staying with us. I have sent you a private message so that I can look into this for you. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we hope to welcome you back to Distinction Christchurch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

This hotel is terrific for so many reasons. Their rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Make sure you get one facing the Square! Staff are very accommodating and special thanks to Andrew the Concierge, who was a great help with our luggage and suggestions on where to dine. Reception were very friendly and nothing was a problem. Restaurant staff very helpful and welcoming too. Thank you all!!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank chookkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Dear chookkiwi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m so happy to read your amazing comments about our hotel, especially your thanks to Andrew. I’ll make sure to let him know, he’ll be thrilled. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews