We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$289
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$289
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$259
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
156
63
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
156
63
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking great location cathedral square huge tv new zealand the heart of the city walking distance breakfast buffet room service tram stop beds were very comfortable family room good size very nice hotel hotel is located mini bar pleasant stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2019

Stayed here for 2 nights on business - really lovely room, comfy bed and good pillows. Nice bathroom and toiletries and lovely touches like the snacks with the tea and coffee. Very good breakfast. Had been travelling throughout the Uk, Australia and NZ for 3 weeks and this was the nicest hotel I stayed in.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2019

Dear Megam M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. So happy to read you amazing comments about our rooms and breakfast. Also so happy to read that you found us the nicest hotel in your 3 weeks of travelling. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

Hotel was OK in most respects: room reasonable size, wifi OK, bathroom OK, breakfast average but Ok, desk space tiny BUT

my room was adjacent to one wall of the liftwell and the noise from the lifts going up and down was phenomenal, like being inside a factory. A constant roaring noise.

Very very disappointing.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ge90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2019

Dear ge90,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m sorry to read about the noise issues you found whilst staying with us. I have sent you a private message so that I can look into this for you. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we hope to welcome you back to Distinction Christchurch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

This hotel is terrific for so many reasons. Their rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Make sure you get one facing the Square! Staff are very accommodating and special thanks to Andrew the Concierge, who was a great help with our luggage and suggestions on where to dine. Reception were very friendly and nothing was a problem. Restaurant staff very helpful and welcoming too. Thank you all!!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank chookkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Dear chookkiwi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m so happy to read your amazing comments about our hotel, especially your thanks to Andrew. I’ll make sure to let him know, he’ll be thrilled. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019

We were bitterly disappointed to be given the smallest,darkest room in the hotel facing a blank concrete wall. Certainly not a great start on our first night in New Zealand. The hotel did not seem very busy so even more disappointing to be put in this room

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Dear asw54,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m sorry to read that you did not have the best view from your room. Unfortunately, not all of our rooms have the amazing views that Christchurch offers. By your description of the view I believe that you were in one of our Classic King rooms. I have sent you a Private Message so that I can look into this further. We hope that you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2019

We stayed four nights in a double queen room and we had a lovely stay.

From the time we checked in until we left, the staff were friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Chloe, Gracey & Angela!

The room was spacious and bright and the furnishings very tasteful and quite new. The photos of the bathroom don't do it justice and make it look 'older' but actually, its just the tile colour.

Location is good and a easy walk to shops, supermarket and restaurants.

As overseas visitors, we hadn't heard of Distinction Hotels before and after this stay, hope they will expand !

Oh btw, the restaurant, Gumption, is excellent. The steak we had was much better than a renowned (and more expensive) steak house in Christchurch. Worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cookieah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear andrewh84,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments about our team and rooms have made our week! So happy that you enjoyed our Gumption restaurant as well. I’ll make sure to pass on your comments to Chloe, Gracey and Angela. They will be thrilled. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews