We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$309
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$287
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$255
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
asw54
Melbourne, Australia

View of a wall

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Sept 2019
We were bitterly disappointed to be given the smallest,darkest room in the hotel facing a blank concrete wall. Certainly not a great start on our first night in New Zealand. The hotel did not seem very busy so even more disappointing to be put in this room
Date of stay: September 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 21 Sept 2019
Dear asw54,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m sorry to read that you did not have the best view from your room. Unfortunately, not all of our rooms have the amazing views that Christchurch offers. By your description of the view I believe that you were in one of our Classic King rooms. I have sent you a Private Message so that I can look into this further. We hope that you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $179
  • StayForLong
    $168
  • Hotel Website
    $179
0.5 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$206
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
    $164
  • Agoda.com
    $165
0.1 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$152
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Hotels.com
    $152
  • Priceline
    $152
2.2 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$223
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $223
  • Hotels.com
    $223
  • Official Hotel
    $223
0.9 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $129
  • Vio.com
    $115
  • Hotels.com
    $129
0.2 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$240
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $240
  • Agoda.com
    $234
  • Expedia.com
    $240
7.6 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • ZenHotels.com
    $258
  • Hotels.com
    $266
9.1 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
$208
  • Novotel
    $208
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $208
0.1 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Priceline
    $120
0.8 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$191
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $195
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Expedia.com
    $191
8.7 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
159
63
18
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
63
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking great location cathedral square huge tv new zealand the heart of the city walking distance breakfast buffet room service tram stop beds were very comfortable family room good size very nice hotel hotel is located mini bar pleasant stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2019

We stayed four nights in a double queen room and we had a lovely stay.

From the time we checked in until we left, the staff were friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Chloe, Gracey & Angela!

The room was spacious and bright and the furnishings very tasteful and quite new. The photos of the bathroom don't do it justice and make it look 'older' but actually, its just the tile colour.

Location is good and a easy walk to shops, supermarket and restaurants.

As overseas visitors, we hadn't heard of Distinction Hotels before and after this stay, hope they will expand !

Oh btw, the restaurant, Gumption, is excellent. The steak we had was much better than a renowned (and more expensive) steak house in Christchurch. Worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cookieah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear andrewh84,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments about our team and rooms have made our week! So happy that you enjoyed our Gumption restaurant as well. I’ll make sure to pass on your comments to Chloe, Gracey and Angela. They will be thrilled. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way South. The service was faultless and the rooms were comfortable and functional. Found it a nice touch to have tea, hot chocolate and coffee in the room with some Whittaker’s chocolate. Would stay here again if looking for somewhere central in Christchurch. Was walking distance to lots of sites, shopping and dining.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nire4525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear Nire4525,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Amazing to read your comments about our faultless service and that you found our rooms comfortable and functional. The Whittakers chocolate is also our favourite! We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2019

On our driving tour of New Zealand we’ve stayed here on two occasions. In a fantastic location right next to the cathedral. Very comfortable beautifully decorated rooms. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Concierge especially was very helpful. Breakfast was a standard buffet. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Dear Jennifer L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Great to read that you found our staff welcoming and friendly. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

We loved staying here.... the bed and linen were top shelf. There is a huge TV for the blokes, It is in an extremely central location we loved the chocolate bar and shortbread and these were complimentary.. We had 2 nights here, and would stay here in a heatbeat when we are next in Christchurch.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank 775gilvray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Dear 775gilvray,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. So glad to read that you loved staying with us and that you loved the beds and linen too. They are pretty amazing! We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019

I stay here whenever I am in Christchurch on business and always find the service very good and the rooms almost always first class. The only issue i have had was one room that was next door to the lift wells and the noise through the night was not the best, but otherwise, never any issues. Good restaurant and nice relaxing bar downstairs.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Dear Kelvin L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. So glad to read your comments about our rooms and service being first class. I have sent you a private message regarding the noise issues from the lifts that you have experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch soon.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews