We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nathan D
Brisbane, Australia

Warm and comfortable stay in the heart of Christchurch

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Aug 2019via mobile
Thoroughly enjoyed our albeit brief stay here. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a lovely modern bathroom. Service was very attentive and helpful too. Hotel is in a great location centrally to Christchurch if you want to base yourself on your adventures!
Date of stay: August 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 Sept 2019
Dear NT15213,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m so glad to read that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and that the service from our team was attentive. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$295
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $295
  • Hotels.com
    $290
  • Official Website
    $295
0.8 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$195
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $195
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Priceline
    $195
0.3 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $264
  • Priceline
    $299
1.0 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$146
  • Priceline
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $129
  • Agoda.com
    $129
2.2 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$295
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $295
  • Hotels.com
    $258
  • Vio.com
    $291
1.2 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$219
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Priceline
    $219
0.7 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.8 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$247
  • Expedia.com
    $247
  • ZenHotels.com
    $239
  • Priceline
    $247
9.1 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $217
  • Priceline
    $225
7.6 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
$190
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Novotel
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $190
0.1 km from Distinction Christchurch Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
159
64
18
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
64
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking great location cathedral square huge tv new zealand the heart of the city walking distance breakfast buffet room service tram stop beds were very comfortable family room good size very nice hotel hotel is located mini bar pleasant stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2019

This hotel has been newly renovated (re-opened last year). It has been decorated very tastefully and therefore the rooms and bathrooms have that 'new' feel. The bed was very comfy and the in-room facilities were very good (mini bar, tea/coffee facilities etc). The location is excellent, right next to the cathedral. The bar is well stocked with friendly staff and the front desk staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel in Christchurch. Breakfast is not included in the room rate but is approx. $25 if booked when checking in.

Room tip: High room ideally
Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahJane11London
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

Dear SarahJane11London,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and also for your amazing comments about our hotel and team. I’m thrilled to read that you found our team to be friendly, welcoming and helpful. I’ll definitely make sure to pass that back to them. Thank you so much for your recommendation for hotels in Christchurch. We hope you enjoyed your time in our city and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to sights, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are basic hotel rooms and the breakfast buffet had sufficient options. The staff were nice and helpful. There is valet parking.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LisaandNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2019

Dear LisaandNik,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m glad to read that you found our team to be nice and helpful. We hope you enjoyed your time in Christchurch and we hope to welcome you back to Distinction Christchurch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

GREAT breakfast, friendly reception, easy parking, perfect location... we were there for 3 days... it could not have been better. The hotel is close enough so that one can walk anywhere. I can not walk that well, but had no problems at all. I just loved Christchurch, many museums, many art galleries, and really friendly people.

Room tip: use the lime scooters, or use the trolley to get around town. both are very easy.
Date of stay: March 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2019

Dear hansomat,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We love your comments about our GREAT breakfast, our friendly reception team and I’m glad you found the parking easy. Our location makes it so easy to walk anywhere in the City Centre. We hope you enjoyed your time in Christchurch we hope to welcome you back to Distinction Christchurch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

Great place for business or a weekend getaway. Would stay there in a heartbeat again and love proximity to the entertainment zone. Right across the road from the Cathedral which is being restored so links the old and new in an interesting manner. New build around it too.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank 347shaunl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2019

Dear Shaun L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m thrilled to read your great comments about our helpful team and I’m glad you found the hotel to be very comfortable. We hope you enjoyed your time in Christchurch and we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Christchurch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2019

In addition to the usual toiletries, this hotel provides everything you could need if you lost your luggage including a shaving kit and toothbrush/toothpaste. The hotel dining room is very good. We ate there two nights and everything was delicious. The breakfast buffet is very extensive and will get you through your day. Our room on the 8th floor was overlooking the cathedral, which is completely boarded up, so you cannot even see the exterior from the street. Very comfortable bed, large room and large bathroom. Our room had a tub/shower, so they are available. We had a shuttle pickup at 4:15 am and the kitchen provided a box breakfast we could take away and eat at the airport before going through security.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank The_Schaefers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distinctionchch, Manager at Distinction Christchurch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Dear The_Schaefers,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to read your awesome comments about our hotel and our amenities. Glad to read we could help you out with something to eat before your flight early in the morning. We hope you enjoyed your time in Christchurch and we hope to welcome you back to Distinction Christchurch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ali Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews