We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$266
Priceline
$266
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
$257
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
DaniK970
Somerset, United Kingdom
Excellent airport hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2020via mobile
This hotel only opened about three months ago. It still exudes that freshness. We were very impressed and I would not hesitate to stay here again if you need easy access to the airport which is only a short walk away. The rooms were immaculate, the bed was super comfy and the shower was good. We also ate dinner there and that was surprisingly good too. Novotel have set the bar high for an airport hotel and is the best Novotel I have stayed in, in fact completely unlike a Novotel. Air conditioning was very quiet and we couldn’t hear the planes either. You will not be disappointed!
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
140
43
13
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
43
13
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor covered walkway short walk to the terminal taking off short term parking corner suite floor overlooking departing early accor member modern design morning flight facilities are great christchurch airport welcome drink few issues south island holiday hire car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2020

Stayed one night to catch an early flight. Quite comfortable and we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant. in the evening. Second stay in this new hotel. Very convenient location but there is no on-site parking and the adjacent airport parking is very expensive.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NovotelCA, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Dear Leonard,
Thank you very much for your loyalty. I am very pleased to read that you have chosen to stay at the Novotel Christchurch Airport for a second time. Thanks for your very positive comments about our restaurant and room comfort.
Sorry about the car parking cost. As you know all car spaces are operated by the Aiport. You may want to book online in advance next time you have to catch a flight as they offer discounted rates for early bookings.
Thanks again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA. General Manager
Delete Response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

Firstly this place has the looks has the appeal and has great facilities, on the 6th floor is the bar and restaurant which over looks the southern Alpes and direct views of the runway. However if you want a relaxing dining experience without feeling like you're being overwhelmed by having someone at your table every 5mins to check on you, then this isn't the place. The staff are lovely and friendly, but there's attentive and then there's just too much. Not the place to go if you want a relaxing evening for dinner with your partner or friends. The menu selection was very ordinary and bland. Almost boarderline pub grub. Not very creative and almost tasteless. The staff dont seem to be very happy and dont really smile much. Maybe unpleasant working environment for them who knows.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank worldwide365
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NovotelCA, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry that you have felt uncomfortable with our waiting staff in their attempt to provide a good level of service. I take good note of your impressions and I will share them with our Food and Beverage Manager. I agree that there should be discernment when attending tables, some guests appreciate a discreet service, and obviously that was your case, while other guests prefer to be looked after actively. Our chefs have also been informed about your comments regarding the menu and your food experience.
Thanks again for your review. The team at the Novotel Christchurch Airport and I wish you a very pleasant week and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Wonderful location for anyone who loves the hustle and bustle of airports. This was a birthday present for my son and the Novotel went above and beyond for us. The check in staff were quick, friendly and efficient, nothing was too much. The concierge (Ross) was an excellent ambassador for the hotel and you could tell he loved his job and connected with the guests staying. Our suite on the 5th floor overlooked the Emirates and Singapore landing pads and had AMAZING views. As a family we all settled in to watch planes. The 6th floor restaurant offers again amazing views (honestly you just can't get enough of it!), exceptional food and well priced beverages. The staff were professional and attentive and despite the high roof the restaurant instead of being noisy was remarkably quiet. We had breakfast the next day and I know what your thinking! Hotel buffets are usually grim at best. Not so at the Novotel. Everything is small batch prepared so nothing sits around congealing and festering away, they even had dumplings which meant my son and I were in heaven! The coffee was a delightful surprise too as I didn't feel the need to stop off at our local on the way home! I would urge any local or visitor to go and check out the airport Novotel. If you are local, park up and wander over if your picking someone up, their coffee is great and you have two locations within the hotel in which to choose from (there is a cafe on the ground floor) or even stay for the night and treat yourself to everything they have to offer - which is a lot!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank ReeDee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NovotelCA, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Dear Ree Dee,
The team and I are very grateful for the wonderful review you have written about your stay at the Novotel Christchurch Airport. I am delighted that your experience was pleasant all accross the board, from service to food, from views to comfort. I am even more delighted that your son had a special birthday: Happy birthday to your son and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We will always be happy to welcome you at the Novotel Christchurch Airport. Have a fabulous week. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

I know this hotel has not long opened however when I usually ring a hotel on my way in, they usually try to help. Not in this case I have a large van and trailer and I am a Dimond Accour member ( not that it means anything here ) if I ask for help at the SOFITEL queens town the NOVOTEL helps if I ask for help from the Pullman Auckland no problem if I ask for help from NOVOTEL Chch airport NO is the reply park in the long stay ! Yay what great service, NOT ! Dinner the food was fantastic but none of the staff seamed happy in the restaurant the head chef I heard above all else, and this is not peaceful at all after a long drive. If he needs to bark orders at his staff may be the kitchen ought to be enclosed !
I went to pay stood at the till in front of the lady there who did not even acknowledge my presence just ignored me and kept staring at the screen an “ I will be just a moment “ would not have hurt ?
The Chairs in the bar look great just don’t plan to sit in them too long they are the most uncomfortable form of seated torture.
The lady in reception when I checked in was a delight she sorted out the room and got me In to the hotel despite my booking error.
As the f and b level of the hotel was so unwelcoming I will do all I can not to stay here again !

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank thomas1972NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NovotelCA, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear Thomas,

Firstly I would like to thank you for bringing to my attention the different issues you have faced during your stay. As a loyal ACCOR member, your comments and suggestions are most valued.

Sorry to read that you have not received enough assistance on part of our team regarding parking your van and trailer. I have also taken good note of the lack of service and professionalism you have noted at the restaurant. Rest assured that all these issues will be addressed.

I really appreciate your underlining the quality of the food and the kindness of our reception team. I sincerely hope that you can accept our apologies and offer us a chance to serve you better in the near future. Following your feedback both on Trip Advisor and through our Novotel Christchurch Airport survey, our Room Division Manager has sent a message to your personal an email address to apologize in a more personal way. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and to providing an enjoyable and relaxing experience.


Kind regards

Olivier LACOUA - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

I’m normally quite hard to impress, however this brand-new Novotel property exceeded all my Expectations.

Situated at the Christchurch International airport terminal without even a road to cross, I chose a room with an airport view which was so close you could almost touch the planes, with the double glaze windows you could not hear any noise at all.

The bed was incredibly comfortable with a pillow selection of six different types of pillows, rainshower water pressure was excellent compared to your standard Novotel hotel, everything down to the smallest detail has been thought of including 11 electricity power outlets and 3USB ports enough for a family full of multiple devices.

The restaurant and bar is on the top level with a full entire view of the airport, an interactive kitchen with a number of chefs busily preparing a variety of international dishes.

The decor and furnishings in the hotel is world class from the lobby to the rooms, to the restaurant, conference and events spaces

A huge thanks to Olivier and his team, Christina on check in, Carolina on checkout and Jess for making an amazing barrister coffee in the rooftop restaurant.

I will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank MarkFlintoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NovotelCA, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Dear Mark
Thank you so much for staying at the Novotel Christchurch Airport and thank you for your wonderful review. I am very grateful that you have taken the time to write beautifully about your experience with us: I am glad that you have enjoyed the design, the views, the comfort and the service. The whole team is looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards. Olivier LACOUA. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews