We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent inside & outside dining options, varied choices, good quality”

The Little High Eatery
Ranked #7 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Price range: $5 - $40
Description: A 'modern market place' located in the heart of Christchurch's CBD. Nine local, family run businesses serving up authentic, hand crafted dishes paired with delicious drink. The vibe at our eatery is lively, bustling with locals, tourist, and foodies alike. Open 7 days a week, only closed 3 days across the whole year (25 Dec, 1 Jan, and a Staff day)
Restaurant details
Description: A 'modern market place' located in the heart of Christchurch's CBD. Nine local, family run businesses serving up authentic, hand crafted dishes paired with delicious drink. The vibe at our eatery is lively, bustling with locals, tourist, and foodies alike. Open 7 days a week, only closed 3 days across the whole year (25 Dec, 1 Jan, and a Staff day)
Reviewed 29 March 2023

This is a great food court type casual eatery which we saw close to where were staying in town. The website doesn't do a good job of really explaining "what to expect" so we went on a limb. It's essentially 9 separate food operators in a shared space, similar to a food court, with high end food. You can choose from any of the food places & sit in communal areas, serviced by friendly busboys & girls. You go to the counter, buy your food, get a beeper, sit down & when your food is ready you go get it. lots of choices, great food. mixed age group. indoor & outdoor dining. open all day & late which is nice. I ordered from boom boom chicken & hubs had a pizza. happy hour in several places from 4-6 for drinks. A lot like the Riverside market place which we also loved.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cruzfool2005ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Little High, Marketing at The Little High Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience at Little High! Looking forward to seeing you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2023 via mobile

We were touring NZ and this place was recommended by our NZ travel agency. It is a modern take on a high end food court, with different authentic independent restaurants sharing the space. This is definitely a popular place for locals, packed with people of all ages enjoying it. It was nice to see so many happy people enjoying their food. We enjoyed our beef and veg burgers from Bacon Brothers very much.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank Novageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Little High, Marketing at The Little High Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

It was a pleasure having you at Little High! We hope to see you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2023 via mobile

This is a busy spot to meet up with friends for food and drinks. We chose El Fogon. The barbecue ribs were good. Almost as good as Mississippi barbecue. The beer was delicious and salad and mashed potatoes were tasty. We split the meal and it was plenty. There are numerous restaurants to choose from. Our friends were very happy with their orders from burger place and Thai place. The Mexican restaurant had very good beers on tap. You can sit inside or outside at large tables. It was very busy with young people around happy hour but got a little less crowded as the evening went on. We went on a Wednesday night so I imagine it is busy most nights.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Pizzalover245
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Little High, Marketing at The Little High Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

We're thrilled you had a great time! Looking forward to seeing you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2022 via mobile

Great modern dinner and drinks locations. Lots of varied cuisines and drinks but everyone can eat together. We had the pizza which was delicious.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Little High, Marketing at The Little High Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

We're glad you had a great time! Looking forward to seeing you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2022 via mobile

Boom Boom chicken has AMAZING cocktails. Made promptly on a busy Friday night and simply delicious. I will be back and look forward to trying more.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank Flombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Little High, Marketing at The Little High Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Thank you for your positive review! Hope to see you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Little High Eatery also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Little High Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.