We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$267
CrownePlaza.com
$267
Save more with IHG One Rewards
Algotels
$247
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
267
145
44
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
267
145
44
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market place restaurant ihg member rain shower southern alps room service comfortable hotel buffet breakfast cathedral square king bed great shower nice room south island three nights late check one night stay comfortable stay botanical gardens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2020

It has taken me a while to write reviews of our once-in-a-lifetime, dream holiday to New Zealand that was cut short by Covid-19.
It all started so well in the 3rd week of February with Christchurch our first stop.
A short taxi ride from the Airport to Crowne Plaza Hotel which, I have to admit, I was not too excited about - a high-rise hotel in a city ...
However, Peter, our holiday planner at Audley Travel said it was a good choice as, apart from anything else, they often accommodated early check-in.
We arrived about 11am and out room wasn't ready. However, the helpful young lady at Reception put our cases in storage and gave us a map, explaining where places we might want to see could be found.
We settled in at the bar to study the map and within a very short time (no more than about 15 minutes) our room was ready.
Gratefully we went up (13th floor) to a large well-appointed room with a pretty good view over Victoria Square.
In the evening we ate in the Market Place (hotel) Restaurant - a very good meal.
Breakfast was a good hotel-buffet with plenty of choice.
After our 2-night stay we were able to walk to the Avis car hire office to collect our hire car and set off on our self-drive holiday.
Overall, yes, it's a well-positioned city hotel, very comfortable and friendly.
On our 5-star system based on Welcome, Comfort, Food, Cleanliness, View and Peace & Quiet we awarded 3.9

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lamorna53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Thank you to The Crown Plaza Hotel Management Team for being so understanding when I needed to cancel my “non cancellation “ reservation due to COVID-19. My reservation was cancelled immediately upon request and the money was refunded to my account.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank L4396SVdeniseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2020

It is a comfortable hotel in a great location near the centre of the city. It offers parking at $20 per night and a reasonable sized and well equipped room. The beds were large and luxurious, All the staff were friendly and helpful, and although it might seem to be a rather anonymous chain hotel, we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

We decided to stay here as we had a business meeting nearby the next morning.
We had driven from Queenstown via Timaru and were extremely tired when we arrived. The check in staff were very friendly and had our room ready quickly.
We stayed in a king standard room. It would have to be one of the best designed and decorated hotel rooms I have stayed in. And given we travel a lot for business, we have stayed in many!
All the facilities in the room were great. Very modern, clean and the interior design was spot on.
We will definitely stay here again when we are back in Christchurch later in the year.
We had dinner at their Marketplace restaurant and that too was excellent.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Feebee0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

After a business meeting we went into the restaurant at 21.40 believing that we could have a meal at that time. The restaurant hours advertised were until 22.30.

Myself and a colleague were staying at the hotel while a third person wasn’t.

However when we asked for a table we were told that the kitchen was closed but that we could have room service. This was disappointing as we had expected to be able to have a meal together and didn’t want room service.

When you pay the prices for a hotel like this you expect to them to at least keep to the hours advertised irrelevant of how busy the restaurant is.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ukko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2020

Dear ukko51,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Christchurch and for sharing your experience with us.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the restaurant being closed before the announced closing time. We will investigate this further with our team. It is very important for us that all our guests have a very comfortable and enjoyable stay as we strive to maintain a high quality standard of service at all times.

I will use your comments to improve our guests experience and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Ben W.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews