We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Booking.com
US$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/05/22
Agoda.com
US$82
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$79
PricelineUS$82
TravelocityUS$79
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
52
65
17
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
65
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast main road motel sh1 hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2018

The rooms were bright and well ventilated, very fresh and spotlessly clean. Close to airport but not noisy. Hank offered to collect us in the motel’s van after we dropped off the hire car as we had an early flight next day. Hank also booked a taxi for the next Mornington take us to the airport. Very welcoming and customer oriented.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 422lynettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We only stayed one night but enjoyed this motel heaps. The rooms are well set back from the road and are very quiet. Parking is easy. The room we stayed in was very clean and had been recently refurbished by the look of it. It had a small private outdoor patio out the back which was a bonus and great for sitting and having a cuppa. There was a small kitchenette with a microwave and a small stovetop for cooking as well as plenty of kitchenware. There is also a free shuttle to the airport and buses to the city centre depart a short distance away. A very good motel to stay at and we'll be back again.

Room tip: All rooms seem to be set away from the road and are quiet.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dasdad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to stay overnight on our journey south. Just off SH1 but still very quiet. Clean, nice bed and linen. Small maintenance issues in the bathroom with leaking shower hose and wobbly tap on basin. My biggest problem was the ‘bedroom’. They called this a one bedroom apartment, but the single bedroom was more like a closet with a window. There’s no room for luggage or even a proper door. I felt bad for my 17yo child who at 6ft2 had to sleep there. That said, for the price paid...I would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Teagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We needed a motel close to the airport and it was pot luck I choose Birches Motel.
it proved to be an excellent choice,not only the staff very friendly,but very clean and tidy units.
The manager very helpful with advice etc.
About 4 km from the airport at a 4.30 am start and at a reasonable price,recommended!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamilariNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Our flight was diverted to Christchurch instead of Queenstown. We needed accommodation just for the night.

The motel is first of all, super clean! I was very pleasantly surprised as I travel alot and have had alot of experiences with motels and not all of them clean. Airport Birches was very clean, very tidy and comfortable bed, cabin style rooms. The owners were lovely and kind. If your looking for simple clean accommodation right by the airport don't worry about the big guys, try here. They also offer complimentary airport shuttle pre arranged and were kind enough to drop us at a car rental place just before airport.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews