We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Patrick W
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Great value for money

Review of Aalton Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Apr 2022via mobile
Great place if you are looking for a clean comfortable accommodation at a great price.

Staff were also great. Don’t forget to. Heck out monster chicken down the road and take the trans alpine express.
It’s only 2kms down the road. We visited the area in April 2022
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roger Bell, Owner at Aalton Motel, responded to this review
Responded 27 Apr 2022
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us Patrick.
Kind regards, Roger and Shelley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $293
  • Vio.com
    $258
  • Hotels.com
    $294
1.5 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$299
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Vio.com
    $257
  • Hotels.com
    $299
1.7 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$169
  • Doubletree
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Priceline
    $169
0.3 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$194
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $194
  • Algotels
    $188
  • Expedia.com
    $194
2.1 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$229
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $229
1.5 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Vio.com
    $212
  • Hotels.com
    $216
5.7 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    $158
  • StayForLong
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $158
2.7 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$188
  • Expedia.com
    $154
  • Official Site
    $141
  • Agoda.com
    $150
2.1 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Exterior view
$190
  • Novotel
    $190
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $190
2.2 km from Aalton Motel
Restaurant
Room service
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • StayForLong
    $267
  • Hotels.com
    $266
7.2 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
79
55
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
55
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenient location a great place to stay unit motel hayley furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2021

This is our 2nd stay with the Aalton, We higjly recommend it. We had a apt room &, i wanted bath, with was perfect, the shower has petfect pressure and the beds slightly to hard for me, but perfect for hubby, that's the only negative, whiich thats mors personal.
The kitchen was perfrct great supply of teas and coffees, which i gobled up. Even had gladwrap.
Super clesn, friendly as hosts, helpful & even a hidden spa. Close to everythjng, especially the riccarton mall and restaurants. Will stay again

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Inspire55363
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2021

As the manager of a men's basketball team, it was difficult to find a place to accommodate individual beds, facilities and rooms at a good price. I can hand on heart say that Roger and Shelley went above and beyond to ensure that all of the team had everything they could ask for and communicated everything from the inquiry to stay at their establishment. It was very central to all locations that Christchurch has to offer and our lovely hosts always made sure that the team were comfortable and had what they needed. I would recommend this place to anyone. Thanks again Roger and Shelley from the Counties Manukau team! Nga mihi korua.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RakanaCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2021

WE have stayed at the Aalton several times, along with our 2 little dogs. The owners are friendly and very obliging, and the the rooms are consistently clean and very comfortable with a lot more space than many other more pricey properties.
Also love the location as so easy to walk across the road to Hagley Park plus close to shopping and restaurants.
Would thoroughly recommend

Room tip: Quieter rooms at rear of property
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LizzieRushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2020

stayed at the aalton motels show week in christchurch could not speak more highly of the place lovely clean unit and the hosts could not do enough for you great to have new zealand hosts to deal with this motel is central to everything and has all the facilities that anyone needs and if they have not got it they will get it for you

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelaxedRacegoer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2019 via mobile

A burglar broke in on first day. Not a good experience on day 1. Very quite place. Suggest the owner to change door locks. Made a police report and they said that the burglary was active in that area recently. 😞

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank 819irisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aalton, Owner at Aalton Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2019

We are sorry that you experienced a break-in to your room and are upset for you especially given your first day in NZ. We have reviewed our security and confirm that your door was not locked and chained at night. We do our utmost to ensure guests are safe and have liaised with the police who have agreed that our security levels are up to standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews