We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LizzieRushton
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand

So clean So comfortable!!

Review of Aalton Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2021
WE have stayed at the Aalton several times, along with our 2 little dogs. The owners are friendly and very obliging, and the the rooms are consistently clean and very comfortable with a lot more space than many other more pricey properties.
Also love the location as so easy to walk across the road to Hagley Park plus close to shopping and restaurants.
Would thoroughly recommend
Date of stay: March 2021
Room Tip: Quieter rooms at rear of property
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Hotels.com
    $294
  • Priceline
    $299
1.5 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$299
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $254
  • Priceline
    $299
1.7 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$169
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Doubletree
    $169
0.3 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$194
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $194
  • Priceline
    $194
  • Expedia.com
    $194
2.1 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$229
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $229
  • Vio.com
    $200
  • Expedia.com
    $229
1.5 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $218
5.7 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • StayForLong
    $151
  • Priceline
    $158
2.7 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$188
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Official Site
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $160
2.1 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Exterior view
$190
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Novotel
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $190
2.2 km from Aalton Motel
Restaurant
Room service
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • Priceline
    $266
  • Agoda.com
    $266
7.2 km from Aalton Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
79
55
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
55
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenient location a great place to stay unit motel hayley furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2020

stayed at the aalton motels show week in christchurch could not speak more highly of the place lovely clean unit and the hosts could not do enough for you great to have new zealand hosts to deal with this motel is central to everything and has all the facilities that anyone needs and if they have not got it they will get it for you

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelaxedRacegoer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2019 via mobile

A burglar broke in on first day. Not a good experience on day 1. Very quite place. Suggest the owner to change door locks. Made a police report and they said that the burglary was active in that area recently. 😞

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank 819irisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aalton, Owner at Aalton Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2019

We are sorry that you experienced a break-in to your room and are upset for you especially given your first day in NZ. We have reviewed our security and confirm that your door was not locked and chained at night. We do our utmost to ensure guests are safe and have liaised with the police who have agreed that our security levels are up to standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

An easy walk to the city centre. Also has good eating and convenience stores very close. Rooms were newly renovated so clean and tidy and very spacious.
Owner is helpful with recommendations and catering to our needs.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 748michellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2019

On booking asked for a quiet room as the motel is on a very busy road. No problem. We were given a very spacious room at the back of the motel. The room had a large double bed as well as a single. The bathroom was walk in and roomy. The galley kitchen was very well equipped and had a door leading out to a small patio.
Everything was perfectly clean with lots of storage space. Very convenient location with regular buses into the city. The Botanic Gardens are a lovely 15 minute walk. Lots of eating places within walking distance too.
Would certainly recommend and stay again

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank veggie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aalton, Owner at Aalton Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2019

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here. Kind regards, Roger & Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019

We had a 2 bedroom apartment (ground floor) opposite the office which was large enough and clean with air conditioning the was able to cope with the hot spell we experienced. Close to the main road but the noise did not seem to be an issue. Very friendly service who provided advice on all the local shops and restaurants that are only a short walk away. Our only concern was that upon arrival, that typical 'motel' smell that we all know too well was a little stronger than usual. Opening the windows cleared it quickly. Would definitely be happy to stay again.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GafFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aalton, Owner at Aalton Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2019

Thank you for feedback and for staying with us. We appreciate that there was a slight smell left from the previous guests. We do try to ensure all smells are gone before anyone checks in but what can happen during the busy season is that we have guests staying and leaving virtually every day and sometimes with this and the heat we cannot rid all the smells in this time frame.
We were pleased to have you stay with us..
Kind regards, Roger & Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews