We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff..beautiful location”
Review of Sign of the Kiwi

Sign of the Kiwi
Ranked #16 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Price range: $8 - $34
Description: Historical cafe on top of Dyers pass road with amazing views of both the Canterbury plain and the Peninsula.all our food is made onsite using local organic produce from the farmers around us . Great walks on offer around the port hills with lots of wildlife . One of the most favorite spot for locals.
Restaurant details
Description: Historical cafe on top of Dyers pass road with amazing views of both the Canterbury plain and the Peninsula.all our food is made onsite using local organic produce from the farmers around us . Great walks on offer around the port hills with lots of wildlife . One of the most favorite spot for locals.
Reviewed 12 June 2023

Gorgeous building..such history. I ph first to book lunch..a very helpful response resulted in an inside table (on a cool morning) with a perfect view. Lovely,charming staff. Lunched on tasty lasagne and salad.. delish Orange and rum cakes to follow with beautifully made coffee. A must to go again.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DianaChChNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2023

If you love date scones then this is the place to visit! I didn’t quite believe it ‘til I tried one myself. It’s the best date scone I’ve ever had!
The Sign of the Kiwi is a popular little caf so parking can be scarce but the view and food make it well worth the winding drive up.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lovin4stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2023 via mobile

Lovely view and setting but somewhat disappointed with the visit. Ordered drinks ( coffees ) and cakes and selected our table. Given wrong table number so had to keep watch out for waitress in case she went to wrong table. Cakes served straight away...and waited...waited for coffee-by which time cakes were nearly eaten. Coffee was nice but then all disjointed and we didn't stay long. Shame-potential is there but perhaps lack of effort knowing so many stop

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank S5457NVandrewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023

This place doubtless doesn't need another review, but the location is stellar and the coffee is, too. Try the date scones -- delicious. Perfect pre-hike or as your post-hike reward; great views. Oh, if you want takeaway coffee, take your own mug; there are no "to go" cups available. Good for them!

Date of visit: January 2023
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank SROVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2023

Enjoyed a beautiful celebration at the Sign of the Kiwi. This was a private function held on a gorgeous evening, superb location, divine catering and incredible service. All celebrations should be this special. Thanks so much.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank Sweeney48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sign of the Kiwi also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Sign of the Kiwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.