We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”
Review of Sign of the Kiwi

Sign of the Kiwi
Ranked #16 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Price range: $8 - $34
Description: Historical cafe on top of Dyers pass road with amazing views of both the Canterbury plain and the Peninsula.all our food is made onsite using local organic produce from the farmers around us . Great walks on offer around the port hills with lots of wildlife . One of the most favorite spot for locals.
Restaurant details
Description: Historical cafe on top of Dyers pass road with amazing views of both the Canterbury plain and the Peninsula.all our food is made onsite using local organic produce from the farmers around us . Great walks on offer around the port hills with lots of wildlife . One of the most favorite spot for locals.
Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

What a great place, had mums birthday 94 and the staff were fantastic treated her like a queen very friendly and the food was great, I would recommend this place to anyone, well done.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Discover30878626931
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2022

We had our mums 94th birthday at the sign of the kiwi. There is not a single word that I could say about our experience, Except, absolutely wonderful, such caring staff, very friendly, wonderful selection of food. Couldn't express enough as how special this Cafe is. Visit, and you won't be disappointed. Thankyou all the staff at The Sign of the Kiwi. We will be back.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Suzieflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2022

We had a breakfast with friends from Canada, they really enjoyed their French toast with real maple syrup. My date scone was amazing and yummy. The service and the view are superbe. Place highly recommended. Merci beaucoup pour notre breakfast. Bonne continuation.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VALÉRIE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2022

Such a lovely way to spend a Sunday - walk up to the Sign of the Kiwi and treat yourself to one of the amazing savoury or date scones. Always excellent, light and fluffy and the date scones are PACKED with dates. Generally busy but staff manage well, friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: February 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2022

We visited for afternoon tea and ordered iced coffees/chocolates which are advertised as coming with ice cream and cream. We received coffee and choc milk poured over ice. When we inquired why they weren’t as described we were told they had no ice cream at the bar And had run out of cream. We were offered an apology but manager didn’t offer to rectify the situation. We asked for the price to at least be altered and were offered 50c. This was despite the a normal coffee costing $3.50 less. On top of this we were told they were too busy to serve our drinks downstairs and we had to wait for a takeaway despite there being 4 staff and only 2 tables occupied. Wow! As local christchurch residents we won’t be revisiting or recommending this place.

Date of visit: January 2022
1  Thank Adventure306675
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sign of the Kiwi also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Sign of the Kiwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.