We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views - great history - and the food's not bad either”
Review of Sign of the Kiwi

Sign of the Kiwi
Ranked #16 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Price range: $8 - $34
Description: Historical cafe on top of Dyers pass road with amazing views of both the Canterbury plain and the Peninsula.all our food is made onsite using local organic produce from the farmers around us . Great walks on offer around the port hills with lots of wildlife . One of the most favorite spot for locals.
Restaurant details
Description: Historical cafe on top of Dyers pass road with amazing views of both the Canterbury plain and the Peninsula.all our food is made onsite using local organic produce from the farmers around us . Great walks on offer around the port hills with lots of wildlife . One of the most favorite spot for locals.
Reviewed 26 April 2021

Called for morning tea. Had a cup of tea and a scone - both good - tea was hot and the heated scone was light and tasty. View was excellent and it was worth the drive up despite the road works. Recommended

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

Excellent cafe views Cashmere Hill
Great morning tea and coffee .
We had delicious berry cake and scone . Food and service here is excellent.
After our 45 min walk to have a spot to sit and look out to stunning countryside views of Christchurch rest and relax then return on our walk.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank zeeba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2020

After a beautiful walk on Harry ell way we stopped off for coffee and a scone at sign of the kiwi. There is no better date scone in the world! The view from here is awesome too, a fabulous place to sit and watch the world go by!

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank Andyroogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2020 via mobile

Great place to have a quick coffee before or after a walk on the port hills. A variety of tracks to choose from. Great views over Christchurch and Lyttelton Harbour.

Enjoyed coffee. Resisted scones which looked fantastic. More cabinet food to choose from. Lovely to sit outside on a sunny day.

Lots of cyclists. Take care passing them on the narrow Dyers Pass Road. Take care also crossing from cafe to walks. Some cars tend to drive fast.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank jrmtripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2020

This has a lovely feel to the cafe given it's an old stone cottage. They served great coffee and it was a perfect stop for morning tea.

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank MVW-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sign of the Kiwi also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Sign of the Kiwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.