We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for a Coffee & Cake”
Review of Sign of the Kiwi

Sign of the Kiwi
Ranked #16 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Price range: $8 - $34
Description: Historical cafe on top of Dyers pass road with amazing views of both the Canterbury plain and the Peninsula.all our food is made onsite using local organic produce from the farmers around us . Great walks on offer around the port hills with lots of wildlife . One of the most favorite spot for locals.
Restaurant details
Description: Historical cafe on top of Dyers pass road with amazing views of both the Canterbury plain and the Peninsula.all our food is made onsite using local organic produce from the farmers around us . Great walks on offer around the port hills with lots of wildlife . One of the most favorite spot for locals.
Reviewed 22 June 2020

This has a lovely feel to the cafe given it's an old stone cottage. They served great coffee and it was a perfect stop for morning tea.

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank MVW-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

Cafe is situated high up the main road so it has a "high" view of the horizon.

There are 2 sections - one selling ice- cream , the other selling coffee, snacks, etc.

It's just an ordinary cafe, good for coffee, snacks & toilet breaks.

Seems this place has some history.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Travelove58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ericbobadilla, Owner at Sign of the Kiwi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Hi travellove,
We are sorry you had an ordinary experience with us. What did you have on the day. We would to hear more about it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020

Don't look out the windows while driving up the steep hill to this place. Views are great and food is good, but they don't stay open very late. Place has tons of history.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank RICHARDANDJASMINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2020

park at victoria park and walk up, take your dog too, as the cafe has water bowls for dogs, amazing scones well worth the walk or bike up, brilliant views of the city thru to the mountains. Service and coffee is great, and they don't spare the dates in their scones.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseJ1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

Great coffee, good choice of interesting food and friendly service. Parking opposite. Lovely view, tranquil place. Visited on the way back from Sign of the Bellbird.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank richardgr704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sign of the Kiwi also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Sign of the Kiwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.