We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
C M
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Seen better days

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2019via mobile
We have been staying here for years and this Motel had been consistently great but I have to say this time we were a bit disappointed.

While the staff are lovely and the room has all you need - from SKY TV to a microwave and an ironing board - the motel's age us starting to show. There are also a few little oversights - like why is there no handwash or soap in the bathroom? We also had issues with the tv dropping out (resetting the SKY recorder seemed to fix that).

So all in all it wasn't a bad stay, it is still a decent motel, but we have seen it at better days.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $276
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Doubletree
    $151
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
  • Expedia.com
  • Novotel
    $190
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $166
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$225
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $225
7.2 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $247
  • Hotels.com
8.6 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Priceline
1.2 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (1,047)
Filter reviews
1,047 results
Traveller rating
749
253
27
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
749
253
27
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south island within walking distance spa bath victoria street motel city columbo nz accommodation flight studio unit toaster chch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,047 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2019

We were very pleased with our stay i trs a great location and super clean its the cleanest motel we had ever stayed in. The owners were very friendly and helpful.Will definately stay again when next visiting Christchurch.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank blamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Excellent value!! This motel is within walking distance of Christchurch CBD, so very conveniently located. Our room was spotlessly clean, really spacious and nicely appointed. It was a lovely change to find everything we needed in the kitchen - plenty of crockery, cutlery, glasses, with fridge and microwave. The bed was firm and very comfortable. The manager and staff were very courteous and considerate. The bathroom was really roomy and sparkling clean. Great selection of TV channels and excellent internet. Top marks for being the only motel in NZ we've yet encountered that actually encourages recycling of food, as well as cardboard, cans, etc. I was really impressed to see that patrons are encouraged to leave any unwanted items to be donated to charity. Highly recommended!!

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank Paulette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2019

We had a wonderful one night stay (Leon Kim the owner was very friendly and helpful), here enjoying the sites of Christ Church, (easy flat walk to all the sights), the studio was spotlessly clean, we loved the spa bath, (Manuka honey toiletries), lovely linens, fresh and crisp, outdoor areas were also are very-well kept. We would definitely stay here again, which is the highest accolade that can be given.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2019

We stayed at Centre Point on Colombo Motel twice recently. On both occasions we were very pleased with our experiences. We were made very welcome on arrival. The room was exactly what we wanted for our stay. The location is very close to central Christchurch and we easily walked our way to events in town. Service was great. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2019

OK motel, comfortable, clean, very well organized. We were happy with the service and the staff. The owner ordered us a taxi for the morning. There was one thing though that turned us off. We asked him if he could print our boarding passes and he said yes. When we went to pick them, us he charged as a dollar per page! He didn’t mention this before. We had traveled around the world and nobody has ever charged us for printing boarding passes, including a few places in New Zealand. This is why we are not giving all the points for otherwise great service.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DianaAndAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews