We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many happy returns!”
Review of No.4

No.4
Ranked #72 of 1,074 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Cafe, Gastropub, New Zealand
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 26 October 2017

It's years since my wife and I ate at No. 4, but judging by the service and the food we had the other night, it shouldn't be long before we're back again. Having just moved house, we weren't up to cooking a meal for ourselves, so out to dinner we went. The place was busy, but not so busy that they couldn't find us a nice little corner to dine in. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive, while the food was exquisitely cooked and presented. Worth a repeat visit.

Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Manager at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hello Murray,

So good to hear you have come back to the area and chose us on your day of moving, never my favourite thing to do and always a stressful exercise. The menu has just been updated so great to hear you enjoyed your meals and experience with us. Perfect time of the year to return as No.4 is an awesome place to be all year round but the sun definitely adds an extra shine to us!

Welcome back and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Enjoyed a family lunch here in the small courtyard area on a lovely Sunday. We all agreed food and service was exceptional. Only criticism is that the weekend lunch is not as comprehensive as the weekday menu which is great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NZFoodie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

HI NZFoodie02,

Thank you for coming down and bringing your family with you, we always want to make sure everyone that we have something for everyone to enjoy, Sundays have always been a favourite of mine to lunch, sit back and relax. We do tweak the menu on Saturday & Sunday morning/Afternoons to include Breakfast & Brunch options until 3pm then revert back to the full mains menu otherwise it gets a bit crazy for the Chefs but will have a look at our options to see what we can do.

Thanks again for reviewing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Fantastic place to go to meet after shopping and grab a drink and some food. Love the outside fires as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Karen,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, these reviews mean a lot to us No.4 and the team here. Lot's of new dishes on the menu to try out that taste and look amazing.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Went for drinks on Friday afternoon and enjoyed some of the sun on their beautiful patio. Ended up being able to get tickets for a Prosecco promo they are running. Didn't win, but we'll be back this week for another shot!
Enjoyed some nibbles while we were there. The plank was excellent for sharing!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeorgiaOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Georgia,

Great to receive your review, we always look forward to the coming out, No.4 really comes alive during Spring and Summer. We are having a lot of fun with the Prosecco promo on Fridays, we are running this to the end of November so lots of more chances to win a Magnum, just keep enjoying those bubbles!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Christchurch on a late flight and headed out to find food at 9:30pm. After walking into another restaurant that sent us away due to the time, this place was open, lively and very friendly. We each had drinks and then shared the Peking duck tacos which were very good. This is such a happy place to be.

Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Jennifer,

Thank you for reviewing us, you timed it well, we have just launched the new menu with the Peking duck tacos being a new addition and going down a storm. Everybody here enjoys what we do and nice to hear that comes across, hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No.4 also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to No.4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing