We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals ever”
Review of Bessie

Bessie
Ranked #42 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $120
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 February 2024

This was one of the most delicious meals we have ever enjoyed. We had the aged steak with a variety of sides. SO tasty and satisfying. The service and ambiance were fantastic. Great location near City Centre. It was fun to walk to and from and see beautiful murals and sculptures. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Aird, Owner at Bessie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. We're stoked to hear you enjoyed your entire experience, and we hope that we can host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2024

Arrival experience:arrive a quarter before reservation time,although most of places are empty and prepared,still tell us we should wait until ready,that's ok,while there is no one remember to pick us up from waiting place even it's already past the reservation time and other guests had came in。
Order:came for the dry-aged ribeye,waitress told me already sold out at around 6:45。while other waitress told later customer there is still one last dry-aged ribeye at around 8。what the hell!
Dish:Ribeye tastes pretty salty,seems adds too much salt before grill,never estimate could happen in such a highly-rated steakhouse。

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Passport10840654153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Excellent dining experience. We had Ollie as our waiter - amazing knowledge of menu and meats. Food was cooked to perfection. We had steak, lamb and pork - all delicious. No complaints and you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Aird, Owner at Bessie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed everything, and we hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

This gem of a restaurant is difficult to find as the sign is small. It is well worth it. The filet and lamb were wonderful as were the carrots. We don't recommend the polenta which reminded us of porridge. Tried horseradish sauce with the lamb, it's milder than most horseradish in the US and went well with the lamb.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank patrice v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Aird, Owner at Bessie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Thank you for sharing your review with us Patrice. It was a pleasure looking after you, and we hope that we can host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

Great ambiance, attentive service. Perfectly crafted dishes.

We had an opportunity to be seated right in front of the chefs station, watching them was like watching a perfectly choreographed show.

The rib eye was cooked perfectly, it was tender and flavorful.

The lamb tenderloin was exquisite. The croquettes were crispy on the outside and so tender and delicious in the middle.

The clams were a delightful surprise full of wonderful flavor. The raw oysters are highly recommended, they are creamy with a hint of brine.

The Chocolate Marquise was the perfect ending to the meal.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Luis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Aird, Owner at Bessie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2024

Thank you for the lovely feedback! It was a pleasure looking after you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bessie also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.