We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance,  attentive service. Perfectly crafted dishes.”
Review of Bessie

Bessie
Ranked #42 of 1,219 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $120
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

Great ambiance, attentive service. Perfectly crafted dishes.

We had an opportunity to be seated right in front of the chefs station, watching them was like watching a perfectly choreographed show.

The rib eye was cooked perfectly, it was tender and flavorful.

The lamb tenderloin was exquisite. The croquettes were crispy on the outside and so tender and delicious in the middle.

The clams were a delightful surprise full of wonderful flavor. The raw oysters are highly recommended, they are creamy with a hint of brine.

The Chocolate Marquise was the perfect ending to the meal.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Luis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Aird, Owner at Bessie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2024

Thank you for the lovely feedback! It was a pleasure looking after you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2024

The food was good but the evening was spoiled by the long wait for it! An hour after we had ordered one of the waiting staff announced that our food would be another ten minutes. In fact it was another fifteen to twenty minutes by which time the atmosphere at our table had deteriorated to say the least. We thought we should order desserts to finish off with and they took a long time for something pretty simple - by this time the restaurant was half empty having been pretty busy when we arrived. So food good, music too loud, staff pleasant but awfully long wait for our meals!

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank annandhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Aird, Owner at Bessie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2024

We appreciate you sharing this feedback with us, and do apologise about the longer than usual wait. We hope that we can host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2023

The steak we had was one of the best I have had. Service is excellent and knowledgeable. A bit out of the center but well worth the trip.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 307peterm307
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leah Aird, Owner at Bessie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed everything, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2023 via mobile

Great ambience, nice restaurant and very good and courteous waiter.
We had wagyu loin and the bone marrow was also very tasty. The oysters are very tasty, but very different from those in Europe. The Beef Tartar gorgous.

We didn't like the croquettes at all as they were too sweet. The service was a bit too quick for us when it came to clearing the table, as soon as you put your fork down, it was already cleared. The $100 red wine is opened and served immediately and the bottle is placed on the table, which could be done more elegantly. Red wines are a bit expensive for the quality. But all in all a great evening.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2023 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Bessie. From experience in owning a restaurant, we appreciate that it is hard to have both brilliant front of house service and exceptional food at the same time with current staffing issues, however Bessie could not be faulted on either. We tried the Tamar Farm Red Devon steaks and the flavour was outstanding. It was the best meal we have had a a very long time. We would highly recommend and will definitely be going back.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank 906chrissiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bessie also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bessie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.