We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnivore heaven (with options for vegetarians)”

Brazooka - BBQ Brazil
Ranked #8 of 1,220 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $50 - $60
Description: Churrasco is a barbecue art used in Brazil for centuries. The meat is traditionally placed on skewers and grilled on a charcoal rotisserie. Rodízio style serving brings a wide variety of different cuts of meat and vegetables skewers, all served directly and continuously to your table. There is no ordering or waiting just sit back relax and enjoy as skewers and side dishes arrive to your table.
Restaurant details
Description: Churrasco is a barbecue art used in Brazil for centuries. The meat is traditionally placed on skewers and grilled on a charcoal rotisserie. Rodízio style serving brings a wide variety of different cuts of meat and vegetables skewers, all served directly and continuously to your table. There is no ordering or waiting just sit back relax and enjoy as skewers and side dishes arrive to your table.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

This is an all-you-can-eat restaurant but the food is excellent. BBQs like this are as common in Brazil as Fish-and-chips in NZ and this one feels very authentic. Mostly chargrilled meat, of course, cooked to perfection (especially the pork loin and slow-cooked tender spare ribs). Chorizo, spicy chicken, and chicken hearts (my favorite) and many other cuts are on offer as often as one wants. Side dishes were very good too, especially fried cassava chips and cheese balls. Dessert-type dishes are part of the deal (fried bananas and cinnamon-pineapple) but you can also order additional desserts. Stuff is very friendly. Definitely a place to revisit.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Björn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

The meat portions were pretty small on each serving. Although the meat options came through regular and were ok but some were way over on the Salt. Sides were less regular and average so not particularly exciting. The drink ordering was pretty poor. You have to stop staff to reorder drinks which is simply a pain and loses a huge amount of turnover for any restaurant. Free parking close by. Good friendly service.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank The S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2021

Partner and I went for the second time tonight, taking my mum as she is visiting from out of town, and hand on heart was such an amazing experience again! The food was piping hot - fresh from the grill. Seasoned to perfection and just melts in your mouth. The chicken salad and the rice are exceptional highlights on the sides menu.

The staff! So much fun! They all have great banter and somehow convince your tummy there is still room for more

Highly recommended

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank geokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2021 via mobile

If you are a meat lover, this is a place to dine with.. We so love the beef rump, garlic beef, vegetable salad and chicken salad.. They do a Rodizio serving - .. The staffs are friendly and welcoming too..
You will leave the restaurant satisfied and sooo full..
I love the deep friend banana and pineapple..
Compliments to the Chef 👌
Must go.. Highly recommended..

Date of visit: March 2021
2  Thank FallonA85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2021 via mobile

When we were planning a night out with friends, it wasn't hard to choose Brazooka. We got seated in the veranda area out back. They must have known that we were going to have lots of fun and make lots of noise.
As others have said - fantastic food, fantastic service, great night out. Just accept that you are going to eat far too much. Thanks to Pete, Mikey and the team!

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Nick_and_Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Brazooka - BBQ Brazil also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Brazooka - BBQ Brazil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.