We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere ”
Review of O.G.B

O.G.B
Ranked #1 of 28 Bars & Pubs in Christchurch
Price range: $10 - $35
Description: A speakeasy style Bar housed in the most beautiful heritage building in Christchurch. Just down the hall you will find Parlour Cocktail Bar, Woodwards Barber Shop & the OGB Suites. Overlooking Cathedral Square is a charming outdoor Courtyard. Ol' fashioned service, Live Music and carefully crafted food & drinks. Open every day, 11am - 1am.
Restaurant details
Description: A speakeasy style Bar housed in the most beautiful heritage building in Christchurch. Just down the hall you will find Parlour Cocktail Bar, Woodwards Barber Shop & the OGB Suites. Overlooking Cathedral Square is a charming outdoor Courtyard. Ol' fashioned service, Live Music and carefully crafted food & drinks. Open every day, 11am - 1am.
Reviewed 8 November 2023

Rather small venue but lovely decor in the old government building. Beautiful entrance to Heritage hotel.
Great food and excellent desserts. Vegan and vegetarian option.
Vast spirit offerings - lots of gins.
I had the gnocchi which was beautifully presented with edible flowers. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable.
Busy eve so a great buzz.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2023 via mobile

Service not particularly good, rather sullen from one member of staff. Gently baking the glasses down on the table. It could be that we are in another country different customs, but it was a pfaff to pay the bill through opening up a card tab. Food was good even though a small bite.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank petermack2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2023 via mobile

The outside bar and seating here is amazing, we frequent O.G.B quite often. The atmosphere, staff, food and drinks are spot on. Although not on the menu we asked for a old fashioned and when they came out there were amazing.
The live music on the steps is great and even with cooler weather the staff have the heaters going and wind shelters in place.
Great job

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank 500davea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2023 via mobile

I asked around for good steak recommendations, and was sent here. What a fantastic experience! The french(?) waitress was super friendly and saw to it that I was taken exceptional care of. I said I was there for steak, so she recommended the special 300g ribeye, with accompanying red wine. SUPERB!!!

Absolutely awesome food and service, I highly recommend them!

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank DeonL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2023

Eleven were booked in for dinner at 6.30pm at an outside table. Table was fine, staff friendly and light dim. Drinks were ordered and delivered efficiently, apart from some wines being unavailable. Ordering food was made difficult by the combination of dim light and menus with very small print. Waiter did not run through the menu and we were only told one dish was unavailable after some of us had ordered it. A number ordered sides of fries, not being aware that many dishes came with fries - could not read on menu and waiter did not tell us. So we ended up with six large baskets of (soggy) fries, most of which were uneaten. I ordered fish of the day, which I was told was gurnard, battered and deep fried. To my horror what arrived was four large fillets on a board with no accompaniments. The batter was overcooked and the fish undercooked. Over half was wasted. Other dishes ranged from mediocre to good - some burger buns were over-browned. Food was not value for money. We would all tell friends not to go there.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Journey25075784684
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed O.G.B also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to O.G.B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.