We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best mixed drinks in Christchurch”
Review of O.G.B

O.G.B
Ranked #1 of 26 Bars & Pubs in Christchurch
Price range: $10 - $35
Description: A speakeasy style Bar housed in the most beautiful heritage building in Christchurch. Just down the hall you will find Parlour Cocktail Bar, Woodwards Barber Shop & the OGB Suites. Overlooking Cathedral Square is a charming outdoor Courtyard. Ol' fashioned service, Live Music and carefully crafted food & drinks. Open every day, 11am - 1am.
Restaurant details
Description: A speakeasy style Bar housed in the most beautiful heritage building in Christchurch. Just down the hall you will find Parlour Cocktail Bar, Woodwards Barber Shop & the OGB Suites. Overlooking Cathedral Square is a charming outdoor Courtyard. Ol' fashioned service, Live Music and carefully crafted food & drinks. Open every day, 11am - 1am.
Reviewed 8 April 2023

OGB was really cool. The drinks were exceptional - the classics were done perfect and their own twists were also exquisite. Their charcuterie board is also a must get!

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank WorldTravellerDHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2023

Was really looking forward to visiting here, having been recommended it by a couple of people. Great atmosphere, and cozy at the same time. Ordered drinks, and food, which came really quickly - probably one of the best burgers and steak sandwiches I've had in a long time!
After that, the service went down hill dramatically- the numerous waiters went past us multiple times, despite us trying to get their attention. Finally, one comes over and we could order more drinks, plus puddings. Wish we had just stopped after the main course. Waited over half sn hour for cheesecake and a sundae......the cheesecake was dry and old, and the sundae was ice-cream and chocolate sauce.......the waiter did give us 10% off....the puddings (for the long wait), but seriously, don't know how they can charge for that. Such a shame, as everything else was great.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2023

Great location in a historic building in the heart of Christchurch. Lots of staff. Lots of inattentive staff. And when our party of 8 did manage to attract one thwy could only take one drink order at a time.

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NuttaPete13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2023 via mobile

Beautiful and delicious cocktails with an exciting cocktail menu and great decor. Was too loud for us but certainly a good vibe and popular location. Bar staff were friendly and accommodating, Christchurch certainly sets the bar for hospitality.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank alveadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2023 via mobile

My wife and I were staying in an apartment in the Old Government Building. The OGB Bar is part of the building and has a very nice outdoor seating area. They have a good selection of beer and other drinks as well as a good selection of food. The French fries seem to be very popular here! The waitstaff is very friendly and efficient. This became our regular stop at the end of day of exploring the city. I recommend it.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank ronm548
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed O.G.B also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to O.G.B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.