We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE AND SO FRESH”

Cookai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #377 of 1,222 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $15 - $25
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 21 September 2020

we had dinner here it was very nice tasty and fresh and a big variety they even had desserts the timarasu was yumm i had 2
very reasonable prices as well
well worth going
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandraharper63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Have visited this restaurant a number of times now - the food is always a highlight. You can take items from the train or order from the menu.

My only complaint is that some of the waitresses are a little slow (younger woman who stands at the bar, but is out of line of sight) and do not observe when patrons need assistance. Maybe a light/buzzer on the table could help with service.

Will keep returning, as good prices, quality food and seating.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank kimmramor78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2020

The restaurant is modern and very spacious. Good location right in the centre of the CBD. Sushi is average. The rice is a bit hard. And the sushi tends to stay on the conveyor belt a bit too long.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gboal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2020 via mobile

Unfortunately didn’t have the best experience. The food on the train was cold, and the food we did eat wasn’t the best. Read the other reviews which seem to point out that if you go when it’s busy it’s better. We went when it was quiet. Still disappointing as same standards should apply not matter what. We were excited for Sushi Train as have had amazing ones in the past, but this one was a miss.

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank 388madelinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

A group of 8 of us tried to go to this restaurant yesterday and were told they only opened at 5pm by the owner. We were happy to wait so walked around and went back at 5pm, only to then be told they were booked out. Why didn't they say that half an hour earlier instead of making us wait? This also made us miss the other restaurant we wanted to eat at, as they had closed by that time. Poor service. Would not recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 758crystali
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cookai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cookai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.