We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited 30 Minutes to be told they're booked out”

Cookai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #376 of 1,224 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $15 - $25
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

A group of 8 of us tried to go to this restaurant yesterday and were told they only opened at 5pm by the owner. We were happy to wait so walked around and went back at 5pm, only to then be told they were booked out. Why didn't they say that half an hour earlier instead of making us wait? This also made us miss the other restaurant we wanted to eat at, as they had closed by that time. Poor service. Would not recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 758crystali
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2019 via mobile

Not really a Japanese restaurant but a restaurant opened by Chinese that cook Japanese Cuisine. Food is not authentically Japanese as they do it with Chinese cooking style (eg Instead of seaweed they also use Preserved Vegetables in the soup base; Fried Chicken has powder seasoning which Japanese food don’t usually has that)

Sushi and fried meat on the train are not fresh too - they go rounds and rounds the train and some are cold and stale.

Service attitude of staff are not good too - understaff and appear to fluster; try to take my money that is on my hand first before even letting me know my bill amount.

Wouldn’t recommend as it is not authentic Japanese food.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank glazeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2019

They had a large variety of sushi compared to the average Japanese restaurant and the sushi train format allows you to try a number of different types. Unfortunately, most of the sushi I had was mediocre at best. There was nothing seriously wrong with any of it, but the seafood sushi in particular didn't seem fresh and was practically flavorless. The only sushi type that really stood out was the seaweed and mushroom, which was quite nice. Cost-wise it was fairly standard - more than I would've liked given the quality, but certainly not unreasonable.

Overall, it was mildly disappointing but not truly terrible or anything. Given how many excellent Japanese restaurants there are in Christchurch, however, I wouldn't recommend coming here unless you really want the sushi train experience.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarkCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2019

Some of the dishes on the Train were cold some people next to us said, as it was not very busy being a rainy night.
We ordered from the table and all was hot and delicious, in particular the Shishime and Tempura prawns. Good service and comfortable surroundings. Wine a little expensive

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2019 via mobile

Loved this place. I was only in Christchurch for a day, but this place is always open, is a running sushi place, delicious, good quality, good prices, fruit for dessert, free water and the staff was really nice! Can definitely recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank JuliaSchoenborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cookai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cookai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.