We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oishi”

Cookai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #375 of 1,225 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $15 - $25
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Walked in long after normal lunch hour but still been served. Surprisingly good quality of sushi, miso soup and curry.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Lunch time visit, there were enough in for the lunch rush to keep the train moving with a good variety, only a couple of the menu options did not appear. Service was pleasant, but it would be good to see the staff more often to check on drinks. Counter for each diner was far too small and narrow for large stacks of used plates and drinks. Decor needed some effort.

On the whole the food was very good, prices a little bit high. Highlight was the scallop, beautifully tender and tasty. Many other good tastes. Poor performer was the desserts, for example the green tea tiramisu tasted like it was made months ago in a land far away.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Walking in was like entering a supermarket's lighting, bright and bland. Ordered a glass of wine and twenty minutes later when we asked about it we were told that someone had gone to the supermarket for wine. :-/ Staff were overstretched and not very attentive. Some of the food off the sushi train was stale, seemed like it had been circulating since lunchtime. A few things were really good - the spicy tuna roll, and the chicken wings, notably. We wouldn't go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Merissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

I recently heard that Cookai was moving back into the CBD. I'm so glad it did. The décor is simple, spacious and comfortable. The height of the walls of the booths give customers some privacy. I've never seen such a long and winding train with lots of good food on it. My husband loves a sushi train, so I surprised him because he didn't even know it had opened. I've tasted quite a bit of sushi in CHCH, and Cookai is one of the best. Granted, on the day you go they may not have the same dishes as I had because they offer what is fresh on the day. I enjoyed their tuna nigiri and fresh tuna and avocado rolls. Friends who went the day before didn't see any tuna. Their seared salmon nigiri was sublime. They didn't have any salmon roe for Ikura, but I'll go back and hope they have it another day. I've told quite a few people about it, and all have been very happy.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank training1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Visited just after it restarted after having a busy lunch time and the doors had been shut. New place not far from H@M. Sat on the sushi train line and good choices and prices. 8 dishes for the two us cost $48. Some dishes not suitable for gluten free but most of the fish and sushi was, ran out of ginger mind. Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and meal.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cookai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cookai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.