We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
reneexl
Invercargill, New Zealand

comfortable stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jul 2022via mobile
Husband had checked in here for 10 days due to work in chch, 8 year old and myself joined for 4 nights of this. The room was large and warm, I personally didn’t find it dated as others mentioned. Balcony overlooked car park but not an issue for us. Location is great walking distance to Riccarton mall and a lime scooter ride through hagley park to the city.
Points that need improved:
The super king beds are 2 mattresses joint together could feel the join in the bed, also for winter only one light blanket and bedspread on the bed needed something more substantial. Pillows could do with replacing as well used or way too hard.
Heat pump needed to be on overnight but it was the loudest heat pump I’ve ever heard, I guess though if there was outside noise or banging doors we couldn’t hear it from the heat pump noise so that could be a bonus!
Reception is a bit dark and dingy not really 4 star check in and you wonder what your walking into.
Overall an ok place to stay and definitely good value for money (we found it really cheap for what it was)
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$323
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $296
  • Agoda.com
    $275
  • Expedia.com
    $324
1.4 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$161
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $161
0.3 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$207
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $208
  • StayForLong
    $187
  • Priceline
    $231
1.6 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Agoda.com
    $218
  • Priceline
    $225
5.8 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $110
  • Priceline
    $172
1.3 km from Parkview on Hagley
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
Booking.com
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $105
  • Expedia.com
    $118
2.2 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • StayForLong
    $169
  • Hotel Website
    $179
2.6 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$247
  • Expedia.com
    $247
  • ZenHotels.com
    $232
  • Priceline
    $247
7.3 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$199
  • Novotel
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Parkview on Hagley
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$191
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $198
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Expedia.com
    $192
6.9 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
73
83
25
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
73
83
25
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagley park park view great location separate spa bath executive room city centre pleasant walk housekeeping staff heat pump room was large great room comfortable stay visit christchurch henley noise microwave laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2022

Very nice hotel, service and location. Must stay in here when visit Christchurch. Service was really good .Staff are excellent nd accomodating with needs. Nice view on hagley Park. Newark by most of the attractions.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank KalpeshPanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

The rooms are big and that's about as far as the good comments go.
The curtains and bed spreads were very stained and the bathroom either hadn't been cleaned properly or was stained too.
Maintenance (pulling up the carpet) started right outside our room at 8:30am. It would have been nice to have been warned about this. The work was very noisy which woke us up and made the floors sticky which made it difficult to walk from our room to the elevator.
The main room was huge but the shower was tiny and everything about it was outdated. The TV was small too.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank rataferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2021

Do not normally stay at hotels as we are more "Motel Type" people.
Chose this simply as we had a 7 am hospital admission for surgery and felt it was the best combination of price and location.
Some other reviews made us cautious because of the wide range of satisfaction, but now wonder how realistic some people actually are.
Very spacious and comfortable room, perfectly adequately equipped for our needs.
Yes, the room was a tad dated (as were others we walked past at cleaning time), but nothing to justify a complaint.
Yes, doors could be heard closing, but at no stage did we feel like shooting anybody.
Yes, the shower door was not the best fit, but it is a wet room and a minor adjustment to the shower nozzle kept water inside the cubicle. Reception stated that it was a known issue and the plumber was due within a week to fix all the faulty ones. How quickly do those that complained have those issues fixed at home?
Yes, our room overlooked the hotel parking level, but double glazing meant we never heard any cars arrive or leave. Also we were made well aware of this before booking as we rang (recommended to the more demanding person) to check a couple of things rather than booking online and arrogantly making assumptions.
There were a few downstream effects of the surgery but all staff appproached bent over backwards to help and fixed them "above and beyond".

Overall impression was that there would be rooms/units a lot worse in retirement villages with far less helpful staff and without the easily reached amenities and services.
Maybe "Location, Locaton, Location." should be kept in mind.

Room tip: If you have any concerns or preferences take the time to check before booking rather than blindly expect it to be exactly suited to you.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank heatbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable, although quite dated. That said, our view of the carpark wasn't overly appealing, nor was the constant sound of doors opening and closing during the night.

The most obvious features missing were a restaurant and hotel lobby. These seem to have been replaced by a food outlet called "Monster Chicken", with guests checking in via a small booth accessed off the carpark! Very odd.

"Breakfast included" was an offering ordered the night prior and delivered to our room the following morning. Whilst it met the definition of a continental breakfast, it was very basic.

All in all, not a bad experience.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GraemeL262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

This has always been my go to place when staying in Christchurch. Always found it very good. I have to say this time I was disappointed. Yes the rooms are a good size and layout. Carpet was stained, couch had tears, tv wasn’t working properly and shower leaked quite a lot. Good location but for me these rooms need updating and brought back to life.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RennieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews