We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rataferg
Mangawhai, New Zealand

Wouldn't recommend

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jul 2021via mobile
The rooms are big and that's about as far as the good comments go.
The curtains and bed spreads were very stained and the bathroom either hadn't been cleaned properly or was stained too.
Maintenance (pulling up the carpet) started right outside our room at 8:30am. It would have been nice to have been warned about this. The work was very noisy which woke us up and made the floors sticky which made it difficult to walk from our room to the elevator.
The main room was huge but the shower was tiny and everything about it was outdated. The TV was small too.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $285
  • Agoda.com
    $248
  • Priceline
    $299
1.4 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
$152
  • Priceline
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $152
0.3 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
$233
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • Priceline
    $233
  • Hotels.com
    $233
1.6 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$249
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $249
  • Agoda.com
    $229
  • Vio.com
    $237
1.4 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $125
1.3 km from Parkview on Hagley
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$225
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $221
  • Expedia.com
    $225
5.8 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • StayForLong
    $151
  • Hotel Website
    $159
2.6 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$307
  • Priceline
    $247
  • ZenHotels.com
    $235
  • Expedia.com
    $307
7.3 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
$190
  • Novotel
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Priceline
    $190
2.1 km from Parkview on Hagley
Restaurant
Room service
Exterior
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $109
  • Expedia.com
    $118
2.2 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
73
83
26
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
73
83
26
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagley park park view great location separate spa bath executive room city centre pleasant walk housekeeping staff heat pump room was large great room comfortable stay visit christchurch henley noise microwave laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2021

Do not normally stay at hotels as we are more "Motel Type" people.
Chose this simply as we had a 7 am hospital admission for surgery and felt it was the best combination of price and location.
Some other reviews made us cautious because of the wide range of satisfaction, but now wonder how realistic some people actually are.
Very spacious and comfortable room, perfectly adequately equipped for our needs.
Yes, the room was a tad dated (as were others we walked past at cleaning time), but nothing to justify a complaint.
Yes, doors could be heard closing, but at no stage did we feel like shooting anybody.
Yes, the shower door was not the best fit, but it is a wet room and a minor adjustment to the shower nozzle kept water inside the cubicle. Reception stated that it was a known issue and the plumber was due within a week to fix all the faulty ones. How quickly do those that complained have those issues fixed at home?
Yes, our room overlooked the hotel parking level, but double glazing meant we never heard any cars arrive or leave. Also we were made well aware of this before booking as we rang (recommended to the more demanding person) to check a couple of things rather than booking online and arrogantly making assumptions.
There were a few downstream effects of the surgery but all staff appproached bent over backwards to help and fixed them "above and beyond".

Overall impression was that there would be rooms/units a lot worse in retirement villages with far less helpful staff and without the easily reached amenities and services.
Maybe "Location, Locaton, Location." should be kept in mind.

Room tip: If you have any concerns or preferences take the time to check before booking rather than blindly expect it to be exactly suited to you.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank heatbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable, although quite dated. That said, our view of the carpark wasn't overly appealing, nor was the constant sound of doors opening and closing during the night.

The most obvious features missing were a restaurant and hotel lobby. These seem to have been replaced by a food outlet called "Monster Chicken", with guests checking in via a small booth accessed off the carpark! Very odd.

"Breakfast included" was an offering ordered the night prior and delivered to our room the following morning. Whilst it met the definition of a continental breakfast, it was very basic.

All in all, not a bad experience.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GraemeL262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

This has always been my go to place when staying in Christchurch. Always found it very good. I have to say this time I was disappointed. Yes the rooms are a good size and layout. Carpet was stained, couch had tears, tv wasn’t working properly and shower leaked quite a lot. Good location but for me these rooms need updating and brought back to life.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RennieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2021

Sagar and the rest of the staff were very helpful during our three stays at the Parkview. The Hotel is well kept and is in a great location, walking distance to town through the nearby Hagley Park and the hospital is 10 minutes walk away. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet, with most having a balcony overlooking the beautiful park trees.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel,
thank you again Sagar,
Mike and Sue

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

It provides all standard facilities albeit within the range of a motel. Close to a lot of quick bites and fuel stations.

Parking is a tad tricky and check check out at odd hours needs to be worked out prior because there is no 24 hour person at the reception.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stuti88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews