We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Graeme L

Clean, comfortable and a bit quirky.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 May 2021via mobile
The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable, although quite dated. That said, our view of the carpark wasn't overly appealing, nor was the constant sound of doors opening and closing during the night.

The most obvious features missing were a restaurant and hotel lobby. These seem to have been replaced by a food outlet called "Monster Chicken", with guests checking in via a small booth accessed off the carpark! Very odd.

"Breakfast included" was an offering ordered the night prior and delivered to our room the following morning. Whilst it met the definition of a continental breakfast, it was very basic.

All in all, not a bad experience.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $241
  • Hotels.com
    $272
1.4 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
$169
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $169
0.3 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
$195
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $195
  • Priceline
    $229
  • Expedia.com
    $195
2.0 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$249
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $215
  • Priceline
    $249
1.4 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
$190
  • Priceline
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • Expedia.com
    $190
2.1 km from Parkview on Hagley
Restaurant
Room service
$250
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $235
  • Commodore Airport
5.8 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Free parking
$114
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $109
  • Vio.com
    $90
  • Agoda.com
    $95
1.3 km from Parkview on Hagley
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$300
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $293
  • Priceline
    $300
7.3 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $109
  • Expedia.com
    $118
2.2 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $159
  • StayForLong
    $150
  • Priceline
    $155
2.6 km from Parkview on Hagley
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
73
83
26
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
73
83
26
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagley park park view great location separate spa bath executive room city centre pleasant walk housekeeping staff heat pump room was large great room comfortable stay visit christchurch henley noise microwave laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

This has always been my go to place when staying in Christchurch. Always found it very good. I have to say this time I was disappointed. Yes the rooms are a good size and layout. Carpet was stained, couch had tears, tv wasn’t working properly and shower leaked quite a lot. Good location but for me these rooms need updating and brought back to life.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RennieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2021

Sagar and the rest of the staff were very helpful during our three stays at the Parkview. The Hotel is well kept and is in a great location, walking distance to town through the nearby Hagley Park and the hospital is 10 minutes walk away. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet, with most having a balcony overlooking the beautiful park trees.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel,
thank you again Sagar,
Mike and Sue

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

It provides all standard facilities albeit within the range of a motel. Close to a lot of quick bites and fuel stations.

Parking is a tad tricky and check check out at odd hours needs to be worked out prior because there is no 24 hour person at the reception.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stuti88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

We’ve stayed twice at Parkview and love it. The location is great, it’s walking distance to the city through the lovely Hagley Park and is just down the road from Orchid Thai where a substantial and tasty meal is guaranteed.
The rooms are very clean and spacious with a comfortable bed and everything required for self catering. The heat pump/aircon unit is a bonus for those hot Canterbury summer days or freezing winter ones.
We’ve stayed in many different places in ChCh over the years however in Parkview we’ve found somewhere we expect to return to many times.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lindyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2020

We stayed a week and we really happy with this hotel . The rooms are really spacious and the bed very comfortable although pillows a little large for my liking. The shower was good and also had a bath with was lovely after a day of walking. The staff at reception were really nice and welcoming. We had a room by busy road but with double glazing this was not a problem. Hagley park straight across the road makes a delightful walk into the city. I would happily stay again. They also had facillities to do your own laundry at a reasonable cost which was a bonus.Really clean as well which is a very good sign.

Room tip: Book in before 9pm as staff have to be rung if you arrive later and I understand can be a bit tricky
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews