We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Hans Herzog Estate

Hans Herzog Estate
Ranked #13 of 122 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$113
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hans Herzog Estate is one of New Zealand’s most treasured, truly artisan wineries. Settled in 1994 in the heart of Marlborough within the most beautiful gardens Herzog’s offers casual luxury and indulgence for food and wine lovers. Unfettered by commercial considerations, the Herzog’s have adopted an experimentalist stance, cultivating an eclectic array of grape varieties all of them highly acclaimed wines rich in varietal character showing off the covetous terroir. The Estate’s iconic Gourmet Restaurant, casual Bistro, stylish Cellar Door and lovely Vineyard Cottage oozes European elegance and together with vivacious Therese’s and her team warm hospitality it really is a must visit destination!
Reviewed 4 December 2017

4th December. Beautiful Sunday lunch sitting in the delightful garden. Food and wine all excellent and a knowledgeable,friendly waitress.

Thank exwinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansHerzog, Front Office Manager at Hans Herzog Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for visiting us and we're glad you enjoyed our wine and food among our beautiful Mediterranean gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely dinner at the cafe. We arrived around 6 and had the place to ourselves. Around 7, when the 6 PM tour concluded, the restaurant filled up. The service was nice, we were able to taste some wines, and the food was very good. They have more grape varietals than anyone else in Marlborough

Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansHerzog, Front Office Manager at Hans Herzog Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for visiting Herzog's! We're happy you enjoyed our evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Portions were small but delicious. Wait staff was attentive but did not do anything else out of the ordinary than that expected at such a high end restaurant. Was not given recommendations on wine selection for our dinner either. Will we go again? Maybe not. There are so many other vineyard restaurants to choose from. A worthwhile visit if only to tick off the bucket list.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansHerzog, Front Office Manager at Hans Herzog Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for visiting us and experiencing our delicious degustation menu. We're happy that our staff attended to your needs and will discuss your feedback with them to ensure we're continuously going above and beyond expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Have not been to the main restaurant for a while, visited three times in the past and it was exceptional then. Expensive but worth it, have not tried a bistro part at all.

Thank Kaizasulza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansHerzog, Front Office Manager at Hans Herzog Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for joining us again for dinner! We're always happy to see customers return to the Estate. Please do come out and try the Bistro. Dining in the gardens this time of year is a beautiful experience. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We have loved this place for years, it never lets us down, the quality of food, service and ambience are so well worth the visit. Keep up the good work, we know you have a very loyal following.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hans Herzog Estate also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Hans Herzog Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing