We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Esme Shears

Gorgeous, unique, cute piece of paradise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Mar 2024
We were lucky enough to be able to stay in the Woolshed, which was perfect for our group of 5. We were immediately impressed by the cute and cosy layout of the cottage and it really does have everything you need there! It was incredibly clean, has really comfy beds and big soft shower towels. The owners Johnathan and Natashya were really welcoming, smiley and friendly and knowledgeable about all the wonderful activities we could do in Blenheim. My husband also loved visiting and making friends with all the animals they have at St Leonard’s.
Overall, St Leonard’s is absolutely beautiful in every way. It’s so peaceful and breath taking everywhere you look in terms of scenery. We loved our stay and will be back for sure! Thank you St Leonard’s.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natashya Franks, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this review
Responded 1 Apr 2024
Thankyou for your kind words Esme. We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay in The Woolshed at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages. We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your time on the property & spending time with the animals. You were a pleasure to host and you are welcome back any time. Kind Regards- St Leonards Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $133
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $107
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $192
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Air Conditioned King Spa Studio Unit -  Full kitchenette offering microwave, stove top, tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs. Our units are serviced daily and really are your home away from home Free WIFI and 43" Smart TV offering 21 freeview channels and streaming
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $216
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $188
  • Priceline
    $188
  • Hotels.com
    $188
3.9 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Booking.com
2.4 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
  • Booking.com
4.3 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
5.0 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
5.1 km from St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Blenheim
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
274
32
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
274
32
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shearers quarters fresh eggs the cottages friendly animals new zealand breakfast supplies idyllic setting wine tour lemon tree hot tub wine country three nights swimming pool beautiful property excellent hosts we loved our stay self catering
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2024

We stayed here in the Stables a few years ago and had high expectations of The Cottage and were not disappointed! The property was very comfortable, well-appointed and peaceful and the breakfast fixings were delicious especially the eggs.
The location is exceptional with views across the vineyards - magic!
Jonathan and Natashya were delightful hosts and it was a pleasure to meet them.
We would highly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chrispC2734EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natashya Franks, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Thankyou Chris for your wonderful review of The Cottage. We are so glad you enjoyed both of your experiences here at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages. We are very lucky to have some lovely free range chickens that supply our breakfast eggs. It was a pleasure to meet and host you. Thankyou again for choosing us for your stay in Blenheim. Safe travels. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Staying at the cottage was one of the most unique and fun experiences we’ve ever had. We were literally in a cottage next to a field of grapes. The cottage was perfectly outfitted. It was like 2 nights of being “home again” after days on the road. We kicked off our shoes and enjoyed it thoroughy. Thanks to Natasha and family.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lescoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natashya Franks, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thankyou for your lovely review Leslie, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in The Woolshed! We are so lucky to have such beautiful views of the vines from our cottages and love that you found it so relaxing. Thankyou again for choosing St Leonards Vineyard Cottages for your time in Blenheim. Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2024

We are currently sitting in The Stables watching the sunrise over the hills. The sheep are enjoying their feed and the deer are running amongst the orange trees.
Us mere humans are enjoying the view and the hospitality of great hosts who have provided fresh eggs, bread, jam, milk, muesli and orange juice for breakfast.
As many others have suggested this place is idyllic and however many nights you think you will stay here, add another, you won’t regret it.
The wine tour from Marlborough Wine Tours was brilliant but other than that we can’t tear ourselves away.
You will not find a more tranquil retreat.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bootsieban
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natashya Franks, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Thankyou so much for such a lovely review of your time in The Stables at St Leonards. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your cottage and the scenery. The animals love all their visitors and getting a few treats! Thankyou again for choosing us for your stay in Blenheim. You are welcome back any time. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Such a lovely spot to stay in while in Blenheim. Natashya really was the perfect host and made sure we had everything we needed while staying. The room itself was spotless and we were provided with a lovely breakfast. The accommodation is a perfect location for wine touring as it is in close proximity to the vineyards with driving or cycling as good options. It gets pretty hot in Blenheim in the summer so it was lovely to have a pool right outside. There are also alpacas, chicken and deer on the property which are nice to go and see. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CGFo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natashya Franks, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time at St Leonards. We so appreciate it! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time. You are very right about needing a pool in this weather! You were a pleasure to host. Safe travels and thankyou for choosing us for your stay in Blenheim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2023 via mobile

St Leonard’s is a sensational wine country farm stay.
The pictures don’t begin to show just how perfect this place is.
We stayed in The Stables, which had sheep and chickens and deer right out front, lemon trees bulging with fruit you could pick and the most gorgeous sunset over the vineyards and distant hills.
The hosts were wonderful, the cottage had everything we needed to self cater, and despite the town and vineyards being just a short drive or cycle away, we felt as if we were deep in the country with just birds and animals to broke the silence.
A wonderfull break, and we would not hesitate to book again if we return to this region.

Room tip: The Stables was perfect and appeared to have the best views. If you want to self cater, visit the Pak’n’Save a few minutes away.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natashya Franks, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Thankyou Stephen for taking the time to write such a lovely review here and on google. We so appreciate it. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in The Stables at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages. You certainly got an amazing picture of the sunset! You are welcome back any time. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews