We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
StayForLong
eDreams
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
256
32
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
256
32
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grass tennis court including fresh eggs pick fruit friendly animals wonderful hosts cottages set wither hills new zealand three nights south island lamb minute drive a great place to stay michele deer stables chickens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2020

We just love this part of NZ and came back for a third time. This time we got to stay in "The Stables" which was just amazing. You overlook the lambs and vines from bed. The hosts are super friendly, chatty and all around helpfull. The place is so photogenic with stunning vistas everywhere. Will be back.

Room tip: The stables overlooks the Lambs and Wither Hills
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2020

My partner and I absolutely LOVED our three nights in the Shearer’s Quarters. We could not recommend this place any more highly and can't wait to return again!

Our cottage was charming, equipped with everything we needed and included very generous breakfast provisions. We loved eating our breakfast outside every morning listening to the birds and looking out over the vineyards. We even used the BBQ one evening which was lovely and so easy having Pak n Save so close by.

The property itself is stunning, beautifully maintained gardens and plenty of friendly animals. Pickles the cat is a really cutie, only to be upstaged by gorgeous Nellie the lamb. One of the highlights of our trip was feeding little Nellie her bottle. We also loved feeding the sheep lemons (yes lemons?!) and checking out the impressive chicken penthouse.

After walking the QCT we also really appreciated the spa pool to relax in and ease our aching muscles in the evening.

We cannot thank Michele and Marcus enough for an absolutely wonderful stay! We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again one day.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dbounz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

My wife and I have just stayed at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages over the long weekend and wow! This really is an amazing part of the country, made all the better by a couple of wonderful hosts.

Our cottage was easily big enough for the two of us and was equipped with everything you could possibly need for a couple. We used the bbq for two of the three nights and it was no drama at all. There is a Park and Save a two minute drive away just down the road is a real bonus to pick up some supplies.

The provisions provided for breakfast each day were very generous, and in particular the eggs were awesome for breakfast each morning. Being able to eat outside at the table watching the sun come up over the Wither Hills vines was such a great way to start the day.

The sheep, lambs, chickens, alpaca, deer and cat were all very friendly and are very welcoming. The sheep loved being fed some lemons, which was a nice surprise. Nellie the lamb is most certainly the star of the show and really does love a good chin scratch.

We stayed for three nights in the Shearer’s Quarters and could not have asked for a better stay. This is quite possibly the best accommodation I’ve had the pleasure of staying at in New Zealand.

There is also a swimming pool and spa available, as well as a children’s playhouse, pétanque set and a grass tennis court!

Michele and Marcus are absolutely wonderful hosts and nothing is too much effort for them. Really lovely, friendly great people. We really can’t thank them enough for their hospitality.

Thank you so much for having us and we’ll definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Billym33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele Williams, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you really enjoyed your stay with us. the Shearers Quarters vertically catches the first rays of sun rise in the morning. what a great way to start the day. We look forward to your return visit.
Michele & Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

Hubby and I took a South Island roadie recently and voted Marcus and Michelle's The Stables the best accommodation of our trip. Michelle greeted us with a smile and made us feel so very welcome and Marcus made a couple of appearances also. The property is beautifully maintained and we stayed in the Stables. Our disappointment at missing out on being able to book the Shearing Shed was overcome by being in the best cottage for looking out over the Wither Hills and the animals and seeing the Rooster "sitting on top" of the chickens on many occasions, one of the deer roaring around at dusk, and the cute little lambs and their Mums. The Stables was spotless and cosy and we could have just stayed there for good. Every little detail had been thought of and we could tell Michelle and Marcus genuinely wanted us to have a great stay. We enjoy having our own space so it was perfect that we were left to ourselves with a wave or greeting on our frequent drives in and out of the property, but equally enjoyed the lovely chat we had with them both on checkout. Will definitely return with the girls for a girls weekend and try out the Shearing Shed soon.

Room tip: The Stables for best views and animals
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele Williams, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure that our guests make the most of our property and explore the greater region. We look forward to your next visit.
Michele & Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2020 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay. Stayed in the Stables which is well equipped and comfortable. Enjoyed breakfasts outside in the sun. Feeding the friendly hens, sheep and Alpacas was a highlight. Great hosts who arranged last minute local restaurant and wine tour bookings for us. Lovely relaxing stay after a long journey. Would love to return in the future.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gub5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele Williams, Owner at St Leonards Vineyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2020

Thank you so much for reviewing St Leonards for your stay in The Stables.
We are so happy you had a relaxing time and enjoyed your breakfasts outside in the sun.
We would absolutely love you to return in the future.
Take care and we both hope you are safe and well.
Kind regards Michele and Marcus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews