We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
220
32
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
32
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shearers quarters fresh eggs marmalade dairy cottage the main house lemon grove friendly sheep farm stay wonderful hosts breakfast provided farm animals private cottage new zealand rustic charm taxi ride fruit trees stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We stayed for 3 nights and wished we'd had more time! The cottages are so charming. We stayed in the Stables, and I loved waking up with the sheep right out back (they were so cute). There was a small kitchen area which was perfect to make breakfast (nice supplies of eggs/juice/bread/jams provided), an evening snack, or just chill a bottle of wine. We also enjoyed taking a dip in the pool and hot tub in the evenings, and we mostly had the area to ourselves.

Michelle and Marcus had great recommendations for wineries and restaurants, and there was a full binder of information in our room. They were very friendly and made us feel at home for our stay. Thank you both for being such wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gnschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Just wonderful! Friendly welcoming owners and a beautiful setting. Charming homestead with cottages in the grounds.

We stayed in The Woolshed. Full of character and charm with all facilities needed for a great stay.

Comfortable beds - 1 bathroom with separate WC.

Well equipped kitchen with plenty of cooking utensils pans and crockery.

Breakfast provisions provided on arrival.
Excellent BBQ on our patio.
Access to pool and hot tub. Very clean.
Pétanque area was great fun
Friendly sheep!
Excellent laundry room
Free bike hire complete with helmets

And the views !!!
I didn’t want to leave - thank you Michelle and Marcus for a relaxing stay - my favourite in 3 weeks touring

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank AliBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We stayed in the Shearers Quarters during our recent stay and were totally captivated by this area and the wonderful welcome we received here. Michele and Marcus were wonderful hosts and even took my washing in off the line for me! The hot tub was marvellous after a long day's wine tasting (tough life huh?) and we met some lovely Americans to share our purchased wine with. The BBQ outside was great to cook our lovely steak on (from Pack n Save but the quality was fantastic) My husband said he slept better here than anywhere else on our month long journey to a lot of lovely places so stay here - you won't regret you did. I know we will be back!

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Kreebondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our time staying in the Shearers Quarters at St Leonards. The accommodation was clean, modern and homely and the outlook over the vineyards was stunning. Starting our days with an indulgent breakfast of free range eggs, hot coffee and home made marmalade was a delight, followed by wine tasting at the surrounding vineyards and feeding the very friendly sheep on the property. Michele and Marcus were lovely hosts and have created an experience to remember when staying at St Leonards.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmelS105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this quaint establishment for 2 nights. Our room was the Stables which gave us a great secluded feeling! We had impressive views of the hills and the animals on the property, wandering around lemon trees! I especially liked the deer! Close to some vineyards but recommend a tour to get the most without having to drive. A supermarket is walking distance for extra nibbles or if you fancy making your dinner!
Michelle and Marcus were excellent hosts-being available but not in your space -they were very friendly and helpful booking tours and taxi for us. WiFi reception is variable but did the job! The only thing I would change is having a mixer tap instead of separate hot/cold in the bathroom. Would 100% stay here again!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank yaj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews