We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
18
5
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
5
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stay there again speights ale house new owners room was clean beds motel bedroom shower hosts lounge amenities units supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights en route to Wellington. Was incredibly surprised by how clean the unit was with all required ammenities. The owners were very accommodating and the pool was clean and a nice bonus. Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank ShannonS3058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable. Enjoyed pool. Good location close to town and supermarket. Nice decor. However found room to hot to sleep in, would really benefit from a air con. Owners were nice. Parking was easy.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank vanessaw2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Advertised and booked as a disability unit, but lacked easy accessibility, particularly the bathroom. Comfortable bed and good kitchen. Well presented and very clean.Sensible location of television in lounge.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnY7566XH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We were given a 2 bedroom suite which was huge. It had 2 bedroom and a kitchen. Much more than we needed but were told it was the only one left. Pricey at $220. It was clean and comfortable. It didn't have a estaurant but they were close by.

Room tip: Get away from the road
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Violet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Our hosts were very friendly and obliging, the room and bathroom very clean, quite comfy bed. This was our second last stop of a four week NZ tour and suited our exhausted state! Has a pool, fairly close to drive to city centre. The only thing that would have been nice would be free wi fi access; and the price to purchase was a little hefty. All in all, a good place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MissMelsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menzies R, Manager at Phoenix Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

Hi MissMelsy, Thank you for your Review, we do try to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. We do have free WIFI access without question, I'm sorry you thought you had to pay. We advertise free WIFI access on a number of signs including the room information folder. For non-guests, like passing travelers who park at the gate, the price to use the WIFI access at $3.00 which cannot be called hefty.
Thank for reporting that we are a good place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews