We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Missy H
Granbury, Texas

Comfy, clean and big room

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2024via mobile
We were pleasantly surprised with this stay. Especially after reading some of the older posts. We had a suite and the room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was big too. It seemed updated in the decor and flooring. Dinner in Quench was good. The bartender took good care of us.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review
Responded 7 Apr 2024
Dear Missy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate the hotel and to provide us with some feedbacks. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a lovely meal in the Quench restaurant. If there is anything we could do to improve ourselves and turn that 4 star into a 5, please let us know. We hope for another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Chateau Marlborough
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $190
0.5 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio
$178
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • eDreams
    $178
0.1 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $176
0.3 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
$223
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Lol.travel
0.3 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$341
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Outside of units
$193
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $193
0.4 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
happy campers
$93
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $92
  • Hotels.com
    $93
1.3 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
$162
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Agoda.com
    $135
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Air Conditioned King Spa Studio Unit -  Full kitchenette offering microwave, stove top, tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs. Our units are serviced daily and really are your home away from home Free WIFI and 43" Smart TV offering 21 freeview channels and streaming
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $184
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Blenheim
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
466
326
140
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
466
326
140
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel lovely room comfortable bed wine tour one night stay south island suite quench town marlborough nz wineries region laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Chateau Marlborough was our last stop after two weeks on South Island. It is well located with access to vineyard tours, which we'd arranged for our extended family of five. The room my wife and I received was good, and the mattress was firm to our taste. Despite being on a fairly busy street, there was no noise problem. The pool area was nice and a good place to relax after arrival and again after a day of wine tasting. The pool was chilly late in the day. We ate bar food for dinner and that was well done.
The one huge drawback concerned the dining room, which served a nice buffet breakfast on the Saturday morning that we were there. However, our departure was Sunday morning and we needed to be on the road no later than 7 am to drive two hours to Nelson to catch a flight. At least two desk people told us the restaurant would be open at 6:30 Sunday, which would give us time to grab a little food before we needed to leave. When we came to breakfast Sunday, we were told they didn't have food until 7! Bummer. So the misinformation from the front desk made for a rough start. We left early and drove through McDonalds for take away food to eat on the drive.
Please make sure the front desk gives out accurate information.

Room tip: Double check what you are told by staff.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tallbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Dear valued customer,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. While we are glad to see the high rating and how you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, your comment about the misinformation will not be taken lightly. We believe feedback is the key to improvement and with it we can strive to provide our guests with the best service. This will be passed on to our team to ensure all information given out to our guests is correct moving forward. We do hope for another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Chateau Marlborough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024

Pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel is. The location is in Blenheim CBD walking distance to restaurant and shops and short drives to wineries. (though please note the the CBD is very, very quiet on the weekends with many places closed -- it opens up on weekdays). Our hotel room was clean, roomy with modern amenities. I would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Good Afternoon Mary

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave your wonderful feedback regarding the hotel. We are delighted to read your comments on the room itself as well as our location to the CBD and wineries to which Marlborough is famous for.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

We checked in and allocated a very dated small ground floor room, next to the road, initially I didn’t think it had a shower, until I looked behind the bathroom door it was dated and tiny, needs a total refurbishment carpets are dirty and generally very tired. It was not the luxury hotel we were led to believe, I suspect that the rating is given on a much newer block at the back of the hotel. Young lad on reception was very pleasant and did his best to move us to a room which was marginally better and had a larger shower tray.
Restaurant was ok, and we were given breakfast vouchers, which were not clear what exactly you were entitled to. Certainly not what we were expecting.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HuntingdonTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

Good reception at 1AM but car parking is not good.
Room was clean but shower and bathroom were very small and less than adequate.
Price was advertised at $310, however checking later I was charged $317.75, very poor for a first rate hotel.
Will not stay there in the future. Rod Page

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Safari66782650372
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your stay and for providing your feedback. We are delighted to read about the reception even in the early hours of the morning, we ensure our staff are here 24/7 to meet all guests needs. I do apologise about the car parking we do have a limited first come first serve carpark which can be very busy on some nights how there is plenty of secure on-street free parking (during certain hours) next to the hotel on all sides.

In regards to the payment all of our credit card transactions are subject to a surcharge unless paying EFTPOS or cash, these terms are clear on all our booking sites and if you wish to change payment method then we are more then happy to help do this.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2024

This is definitely not a luxury hotel. Is more of a high end motel. Room is the smallest we've been and paying NZ 450 a night for this is the worst value we'd so far. No bathrobe and slippers in the room even though they've a tiny pool. They can't even provide proper green tea bags. Tea bags were cheap quality. If you need a bucket of ice, you need to collect it yourself in the resto and they will only top up minimal ice in the big bucket. We book this place as we need a gym. Gym is open at 7am. I try to negotiate with the reception, is a flat NO. I didn't even have the chance to complete my sentence. However we realise the gym is never lock so you can access the gym earlier if you've a wine tour at 830am. If you're having rooms that face the pool, your room is like a TV to outsiders, pls remember to draw your curtain.

Location is good but this place is so small, doesn't matter really as the city center is a dead place after 7pm. I think great opportunity if someone wants to set up a hotel here as this is the "best" we can find and staff feel they're doing you a favor staying with them.

Room tip: If you don't have to work out daily, then don't stay here.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your stay with us here at the Chateau and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We do take all feedback seriously and all matters raised are discussed as a management team. We would like the opportunity to discuss these further with you in hope to rectify some of the above, if I could ask you to contact us on Nick@ChateauMarlborough.co.nz if possible thank you.

We do set time on both our pool and gym facilities due to the consideration of other guests, our gym is in a close proximity to some rooms and therefore to minimise disruption we only allow access at certain times and likewise with the pool so any surrounding rooms can have their privacy after certain times

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews