We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Safari66782650372

Not so good

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Mar 2024via mobile
Good reception at 1AM but car parking is not good.
Room was clean but shower and bathroom were very small and less than adequate.
Price was advertised at $310, however checking later I was charged $317.75, very poor for a first rate hotel.
Will not stay there in the future. Rod Page
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review
Responded 12 Mar 2024
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your stay and for providing your feedback. We are delighted to read about the reception even in the early hours of the morning, we ensure our staff are here 24/7 to meet all guests needs. I do apologise about the car parking we do have a limited first come first serve carpark which can be very busy on some nights how there is plenty of secure on-street free parking (during certain hours) next to the hotel on all sides.

In regards to the payment all of our credit card transactions are subject to a surcharge unless paying EFTPOS or cash, these terms are clear on all our booking sites and if you wish to change payment method then we are more then happy to help do this.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $191
  • Hotels.com
    $192
0.5 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $179
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $180
0.3 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$110
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $110
  • Agoda.com
    $92
  • Expedia.com
    $110
0.1 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
$223
  • Priceline
    $223
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    $223
0.3 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$341
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $341
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Executive Air Conditioned King Spa Studio Unit -  Full kitchenette offering microwave, stove top, tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs. Our units are serviced daily and really are your home away from home Free WIFI and 43" Smart TV offering 21 freeview channels and streaming
$184
  • Priceline
    $194
  • Expedia.com
    $184
  • Hotels.com
    $184
0.6 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $165
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $165
0.5 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside of units
$183
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $183
  • Hotels.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $183
0.4 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
happy campers
$93
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $93
  • Hotels.com
    $89
  • Expedia.com
    $90
1.3 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
$162
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $142
  • Priceline
    $162
1.5 km from Carnmore Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Blenheim
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
466
326
140
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
466
326
140
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel lovely room comfortable bed wine tour one night stay south island suite quench town marlborough nz wineries region laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2024

This is definitely not a luxury hotel. Is more of a high end motel. Room is the smallest we've been and paying NZ 450 a night for this is the worst value we'd so far. No bathrobe and slippers in the room even though they've a tiny pool. They can't even provide proper green tea bags. Tea bags were cheap quality. If you need a bucket of ice, you need to collect it yourself in the resto and they will only top up minimal ice in the big bucket. We book this place as we need a gym. Gym is open at 7am. I try to negotiate with the reception, is a flat NO. I didn't even have the chance to complete my sentence. However we realise the gym is never lock so you can access the gym earlier if you've a wine tour at 830am. If you're having rooms that face the pool, your room is like a TV to outsiders, pls remember to draw your curtain.

Location is good but this place is so small, doesn't matter really as the city center is a dead place after 7pm. I think great opportunity if someone wants to set up a hotel here as this is the "best" we can find and staff feel they're doing you a favor staying with them.

Room tip: If you don't have to work out daily, then don't stay here.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your stay with us here at the Chateau and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We do take all feedback seriously and all matters raised are discussed as a management team. We would like the opportunity to discuss these further with you in hope to rectify some of the above, if I could ask you to contact us on Nick@ChateauMarlborough.co.nz if possible thank you.

We do set time on both our pool and gym facilities due to the consideration of other guests, our gym is in a close proximity to some rooms and therefore to minimise disruption we only allow access at certain times and likewise with the pool so any surrounding rooms can have their privacy after certain times

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

This really is a beautiful hotel. modern, spacious, well appointed and very friendly staff. Lucky enough to have had a downstairs room and we were able park our car right outside. Didn’t have time use the pool but it looked delightful. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PiningForTheFjords
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on the property and most importantly for staying with us at the Chateau. we are delighted to read your comments on the hotel and especially the staff. We take immense pride in our staff at the Chateau and within Carnmore.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

We had a one bedroom suite. Apartment had a/c in main room and bedroom. Kitchen area clean though not serviced well with utensils for self catering. Fridge, hot plate and microwave good, lack of pans though.in the main accommodation very good let down by below average utensils for self catering. Dined in the restaurant found food average would have expected higher standard. Staff very helpful. Note no laundry facilities

Room tip: No laundry facilities a d poor self catering utensils
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NZtrip2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your stay and for providing your feedback, we are delighted to read about your stay and enjoyment of the apartments as well as the service of the hotel. I do apologise if there has been some miscommunication around the kitchen facilities in the apartments we provide the basic options for room kitchen however items can be requested complimentary from room service as needed.
We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024

There appears to be variation in the rooms. In the newer wing of the hotel rooms have been refurbished and are pleasant. In the older part the rooms appear to be tired.

Breakfast is modest with regards to the choices available, but adequate.
Although we did not try the pool it was warm and cleaned regularly.
The hotel is a bit overpriced for what it offers.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FreddyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Good Afternoon Fred

Thank you for your stay and for taking time to leave your feedback about the hotel, we are delighted to see your ratings in our location and service as this is something we take pride in.

We do have a variety of room categories across both our Chateau Wing and Original Wings of the building with all rooms receiving the same furnishings across both wings of the building.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

We felt really at home at this hotel, we weren't expecting it to be an actual chateau despite it's name. In good proximity to the Marlborough wineries, which we took advantage of.
Nice sized room, very comfortable beds and Elemis toiletries (my favourite).
Lovely swimming pool, efficient and pleasant staff.
Was very busy when we visited, and as a consequence had to eat in the overflow area of the restaurant as all tables were taken. Food good and service well timed.

Room tip: Book in advance if you want to eat in the restaurant. Not many eateries open 7 days a week in town.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lovelivetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Carnmore Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your stay and for providing us with your feedback, we are delighted to read that you were made to feel at home during your stay, we here at Chateau and Carnmore believe in genuine care for our guests and making them feel right at home which I am glad we did.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews