We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$158
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
FreddyII
Wellington, New Zealand
Conveniently located in central Blenheim.
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Feb 2024
There appears to be variation in the rooms. In the newer wing of the hotel rooms have been refurbished and are pleasant. In the older part the rooms appear to be tired.

Breakfast is modest with regards to the choices available, but adequate.
Although we did not try the pool it was warm and cleaned regularly.
The hotel is a bit overpriced for what it offers.
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$216
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$175
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$165
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$549
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
11.3 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
happy campers
Tripadvisor
$98
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
Aerial of The Marlborough and its surrounds
Tripadvisor
$1,332
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $123
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $236
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Chateau Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Blenheim
Reviews (979)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveller rating
457
326
140
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
457
326
140
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel lovely room comfortable bed wine tour one night stay south island suite quench town marlborough nz wineries region laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 979 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

We felt really at home at this hotel, we weren't expecting it to be an actual chateau despite it's name. In good proximity to the Marlborough wineries, which we took advantage of.
Nice sized room, very comfortable beds and Elemis toiletries (my favourite).
Lovely swimming pool, efficient and pleasant staff.
Was very busy when we visited, and as a consequence had to eat in the overflow area of the restaurant as all tables were taken. Food good and service well timed.

Room tip: Book in advance if you want to eat in the restaurant. Not many eateries open 7 days a week in town.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lovelivetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your stay and for providing us with your feedback, we are delighted to read that you were made to feel at home during your stay, we here at Chateau and Carnmore believe in genuine care for our guests and making them feel right at home which I am glad we did.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

The name is misleading. The hotel is nothing like a chateau, more like a good American motel. We had a two room suite so plenty of room, although it had a slightly worn-out feel to it, The hotel restaurant is excellent' we had a delicious dinner there. Blemheim is small and the hotel is well located, in easy walking distance to the downtown area.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

We thank you for your stay and for providing us with your feedback, we are delighted to read the good aspects on this especially around the restaurant and we will be sure to share this with them. I do apologise if you feel the name has mislead you we do pride ourselves of being a 5* hotel, accredited by qualmark, so would welcome any further aspect you feel we could improve on.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

This was a very pleasant hotel experience. We stayed for 4 nights. The staff were wonderful. The food was excellent, so much so that we had dinner there on 3 nights.
The hotel is located in a nice area in Blenheim with all necessary amenities nearby. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Pat

Thank you for your stay and providing us with your feedback, we are delighted to read about your experience and especially in the restaurant. I will be sure to pass this onto our team in Quench.

We do hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2024 via mobile

Well the staff at the front desk were very welcoming and friendly. The room was huge with a super king bed and lots of room. The bathroom was modern and clean, good water pressure too👍. The pool was lovely temperature and a good place to share stories and travel tips with international visitors.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scotty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Good Afternoon Scotty

Thank you for your stay here at the Chateau and for taking your time to leave your feedback, its fantastic to read your experience with the front desk team as well as the facilities. At the Chateau and Carnmore we do pride ourselves on the care of guests so it wonderful to see this happening.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nicholas Billcliffe
Front office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2024

Oh this was an ugly one - like a fake paper - chateau thing from the US.
Positive point : Very knowledgeable staff for the wineries but the rooms were at a 3 stars level.

View of the parking with direct access to ... the parking.

forget the SPA - there is none, it's an outside pool in the parking lot

Overpriced for what it is

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GTCHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chateau Marlborough Chateau Marlborough, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Good Afternoon GTCHE,

Thank you for your stay at the Chateau and for taking the time to leave your feedback, we are grateful to receive all feedback good or bad as we continue to grow and succeed.
I am disappointed to read your comments on our building as it is an icon for Blenheim for many years and we have taken time to restore and preserve the beauty of the building as well as our perception of the Spa as this is advertised as a Day spa (Beauty Spa). however it is great to read your feedback on the staffing and their knowledge we do pride ourselves on our service and knowledge of the area and beyond.

We do hope you will allow us a chance to showcase our property again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Nick Billcliffe
Front Office & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews