We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
343
259
112
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
259
112
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse lovely hotel first floor restaurant staff one bedroom suite the ground floor central location town centre free laundry easy parking guest laundry lovely room comfortable bed large room stayed two nights an easy walk new zealand
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

I will start by saying that the room was very nice and we had chairs and table outside the room to sit in the sun. My only negative is that you could not have any ventilation in the room without leaving the patio doors open so security was a concern, especially as there was no safe in the room.
We had reasonable meal on the first night though my first choice was off, that night. However, on discussion with the helpful waitress she happened to mention that we would not be able to dine in on the second night, as they would be too busy. As the weather was good and we found out early we located an alternative place without a problem, but we should have been properly warned/informed when checking in.
The very annoying issue was when we went to breakfast the next day, the dining room was a total mess, they were vacuuming and moving all the tables around. We were asked (politely) to sit in one corner. No tables were laid and we had to skip over the cables and vacuum cleaners to get to and from the buffet. This is not what I expect when paying a good rate.
The final insult was when were looking at the croissants and remarked that they were cold. A member of the kitchen who happened to over hear kindly offered to heat them for us – very helpful and thank you. But when they were ready the waitress who brought them out of the kitchen simply handed them to another couple who had just arrived. It gets worse. When they realised their mistake it was all giggles and whispers. No offer to get some more heated or to give a simple apology.
Free laundry was available but only from midday to 8pm, This rather limited its usefulness.

Room Tip: Upper floor would sort the security issue, as only windows are a patio door.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lindahollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Lindahollins,

We appreciate your feedback. Please be aware prior to you arriving for breakfast we did have a large tour group eating. It does take time after these large groups leave to reset/clean the restaurant and buffet for our other guests. We are disappointed to hear what happened with the croissants and this would of been an accidental mistake, however we do apologies that our staff did not offer you more once they realized there mistake. We do apologies for this mix up.

Our laundry is a free facility we offer to our guests, and this is normally not offered in most hotels.
The limited operating hours of the laundry are to ensure the laundry noise does not affect other guests staying in nearby rooms.

We do hope we have a chance to welcome you back again

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Spacious rooms, quick check in, quiet yet central location and handy for exploring Blenheim. Excellent A/C it was really hot when we visited!
We had a ground floor room which was handy for the car park and trundling bags to and fro.
Friendly efficient staff in the hotel and restaurant. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi Brian O,

Thank you for your kind feedback, great to hear you have enjoyed your time with us. Our staff will be pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay as well as our facilities and we do hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Opening the door to our room at Chateau Marlborough we were really surprised. It was a huge room. Very well appointed with spacious bathroom a microwave and toaster. We were on the first floor and although just looked into the street opposite we didn’t feel this detracted from our experience. It was very clean and had an amazingly comfortable bed.
The hotel is only 3 minutes flat walk to the middle of town.
We booked for dinner at the hotel restaurant. Wow. Amazing food. We had the lamb and beef steak the first night and lamb and the market fish the second night. Breakfast was a la carte (this may only apply to the weekdays) and was lovely. The service at night was faultless. Deepti was our waitress on the first night and following morning. She was really attentive. She is a great asset to the hotel.
Absolutely loved our stay and would definitely go back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dlrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hi dlrobins,

Thank you for your kind feedback, great to hear your feedback on your recent stay with us.
Also great to hear you have enjoyed our rooms and the amenities, as well as your positive dining experience in our restaurant.
Our award winning Lamb & Steak is very good, and great to hear you have enjoyed it.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Deepti, she is a great asset to the hotel, and I will pass on your kind comments to her.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Well located hotel in the center of Blenheim. Walking distance to main shopping area and many good restaurants. parking available. Well equipeed and spacious rooms. Good restaurant on site as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vommi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hi vommi01,

We appreciate and thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us.
Great to hear you have enjoyed your room as well as your dining experience in our restaurant, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Stayed here for three nights in April. Check in was quick and the reception staff were always really friendly and would say hello whenever we walked past the reception desk.

Our room was clean and spacious and the bed and pillows were probably the most comfortable that I've ever slept on.

There was basic kitchen equipment such as a fridge, microwave and kettle and enough cutlery for three people. Good glassware too.

Breakfast was nice with a good selection.

We had room service quite late one night and it was quick and delicious.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank benas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew M, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hi benas,

Great to hear your positive feedback on your recent stay with us, and that you enjoyed your room as well as our pillows & bed.
We are also happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast in the morning, as well as your delicious room service.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews