We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
342
260
112
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
260
112
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse lovely hotel first floor restaurant staff one bedroom suite the ground floor central location town centre free laundry easy parking guest laundry lovely room comfortable bed large room stayed two nights an easy walk new zealand
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed the stay here. The hotel has obviously been recently refurbished and this has been done to a high standard. The room was very clean and presented well. Staff were friendly and we will definitely stay again when we are in town.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 April 2017

Hi Martin H,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our new rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

As above, it could be better. That said it's by no means a bad place to stay. Staff are friendly. The rooms are well furnished. Beds are comfortable. Plenty of parking. Close proximity to all the local amenities. You can't complain but it could be better with the inclusion of breakfast. Also 5 star seems a little over the top when you compare it to 5 star accommodation across the globe.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HVB2689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 April 2017

Hi HVB2689,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our rooms/amenities and our staff. Please note most of our room prices are not inclusive of breakfast, and breakfast can be added for a extra cost.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We had a great stay here. The room was very nice with a nice little balcony and it was good to have free WiFi. The king size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and roomy. The local toiletries were a nice touch as well. The hotel is close to town and we were able to walk everywhere including the Countdown supermarket. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the pool.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank debbied4763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 April 2017

Hi Debbied4763,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Stayed here in March on a our road trip. Our initial impression on arrival was good and we were show to good size room, but this soon turned to disappointment. Bathroom was in a very poor state, Room was overlooked by other rooms, very noisy at time due to the pool proximity, over looked by other rooms unless your curtains are pulled, breakfast was very average and staff were more interested in their smart phones. Hotel has good potential, is currently over rated when compare to other places we have stayed in NZ.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank KJR9992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 April 2017

Hi KJR9992014,

Thank you for your feedback, please note that the room you booked is currently being refurbished, and this is due to be completed this year. This is also reflected in the reduced rate. We are also getting privacy blinds installed shortly which will improve privacy in these rooms. I will also pass your feedback to our restaurant team, as they no that smartphones are absolutely not to be used while on there shift.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

My wife and I stayed at Chateau Marlborough recently while on vacation in area. The location is about 2 minute to city centre including Countdown super market. We had the Grande Suite which I recommend to get at least that type of room. There is kitchen and eating area. Plus separate bath tub and shower. Good A/C in main room and bedroom. Fitness centre on premises but very small. Treadmill was not working during our stay. Live jazz on Sunday by pool from 4-6. Breakfast was worse thing about stay - not included and not great. Free laundry machines which was nice bnonus. Good pick but need to improve breakfast.

Room Tip: Apartment type room
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u2fan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2017

Hi u2fan56,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your room and our facilities. Please note that most of our rates advertised are on a room only basis, unless organised during the booking process. Breakfast can be purchased and added to your room at an additional cost.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future

Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews