We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$167
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
SARAH J
Christchurch, New Zealand

A lovely motel

Review of Colonial Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jan 2023via mobile
Comfortable hotel run by a lovely family which was perfect for our family of 5 and dog. We arrived late at midnight and the motel was very accommodating. Our two bedroom unit was spotlessly clean with good sheets, a little kitchen & nice toiletries. The motel itself is nice with fruit trees (the hotel let me take a tangelo) and the little pool is in a pretty garden setting with pool toys. There’s a little store near by open from 6AM-11PM which is convenient.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $197
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $197
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Colonial Motel
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Air Conditioned King Spa Studio Unit -  Full kitchenette offering microwave, stove top, tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs. Our units are serviced daily and really are your home away from home Free WIFI and 43" Smart TV offering 21 freeview channels and streaming
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $430
  • Hotels.com
12.4 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $154
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Colonial Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Blenheim
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
63
29
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
29
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two bedroom unit comfortable hotel motel hosts sheets kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2022 via mobile

From the phone call to book through to our departure, the hosts were fantastic, friendly & made us feel very welcome.
The room was really nice & clean, the kids loved the pool and we will define stay again next time we are passing through.
Was also great to be able to have our wee dog stay with us in the room.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sammyzqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2020

Our two-night stay at the Colonial Motel was very pleasant. The hosts were exceptionally friendly and likable and the accommodations were ultra-clean and comfortable. We especially liked the modern decor. It was peak tourist season when we stayed, and although the place was full up, our room was quiet and peaceful for a good night's sleep. We will definitely stay again, if foreign travel ever becomes a thing again....

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klvmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2020

Very friendly welcome from Peter in this classicly styled motel when we arrived for a one night stay. Reasonable size room with living, dining and kitchen areas plus two double bedrooms. The bathroom is small with shower. Kitchen has a hob, kettle, toaster, electric frying pan and fridge. The internet is very slow @ 9Mbps / 12 which was just enough for emails, but not streaming. There is however 52 Sky channels. There is a small pool next to reception and parking is outside the room. As we were nearest to the road it was quite noisy with heavy vehicles, even through the night.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAS1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Etheredge, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2020

Thank you for your review as it is always helpful to us to have feedback. It is appreciated.
We are next to the main highway so it does get quite busy especially during grape harvest time.
The old router has been replaced and things have improved. We do have the ultra fast broadband.
Bathrooms may be small but they are functional and the lounges are spacious. great kitchens and bedrooms are reasonably sized.
Thank you for your stay and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst visiting Blenheim, We received a very warm welcome and were given a couple of recommendations for wine tours and chose one of them for our spare day. We were staying in one of the disabled adapted rooms which had a parking space right outside for your convenience.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 007_Richard_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Etheredge, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you very much Richard for your very kind and positive review which we appreciate very much.
You seem to have enjoyed your stay and the room so thank you for your visit.
We hope that you will be able to return to us one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Peter and Shona are very nice hosts. We first stayed about 12 years and ago and have been back many times. They are so friendly and helpful. This time we stayed for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The place is very clean.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank TonynLynnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Etheredge, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Thank you Tony & Lynnda for your stay and your great review and comments.We really enjoy hosting and catching up with you and look forward to your return.
Your feedback is certainly very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews